AIR-CLINIC: THE DANGER OF SELF MEDICATION

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

images(61).jpg

Before I start with my true life story, there is need to know what Self Medication means. Self Medication is the use of medicine without medical supervision to treat ones's own ailment.

It was on 12th May, 2015, when I was in 200 Level, UNIBEN. I felt some kind of weakness and body ache after swimming. I smiled and quickly went to a pharmacy to buy Panadol Extra and Predilin, this combo works like magic for me. I woke up the next day feeling even worse, it was very strange to me. I smiled again and said "all these UNIBEN mosquitoes too like blood sev". I went again to the pharmacy but this time was to buy a malaria drug. I took the malaria drug and my health remained the same, I encouraged myself by saying " It will take some days before I start getting better".
Maybe the drug was fake, that was what I started thinking. So I bought a different malaria drug, but same result.

Days became weeks, meanwhile, classes was going on. My friend, Ibukun, has been telling me to visit our health center, to know what was really the problem, I didn't listened to him once. But when it was entering a month and I wasn't getting any better, it became clear to me that the issue was bigger than me. I visited the health centre, and they did some test and when the test finally came out, I did not have malaria, I had typhoid. The doctor prescribed some drugs to me and within 5 days, I was fully healthy and back to my feet, like magic. There and then I stopped self medication, but my grades was affected for that semester because I self medicate.

And ever since then, I have been sharing the dangers of Self Medication to people around me. I will like to thank @air-clinic for providing me with this great opportunity to share my story and I hope it has change some people mind set on Self Medication.

Words count: 319

If you are not yet a member, what are you waiting for? Join Air-Clinic by following @air-clinic.
Join the family of Air-Clinic on discord by clicking, https://discord.gg/rqded5m and enjoy daily health tips.

Join_Air_Clinic-2.png

Sort:  

Oh oh, sorry about that. It's good you learnt from your experience. But you try to take multiple drugs.

Thanks, I learnt the bad way

This is not really funny o. Self medication is dangerous. Am glad you have learnt your lesson . Same here with me.
unnamed.gif

#Hug-challenge
#Air-clinic

For more information about health and how to live a good life, kindly join us on discord via https://discord.gg/rqded5m
U5dsUbHwBTpiZGVM3KNhX527ndLFuUf_1680x8400.png!