I don’t want to leave just for money..

in #ajaykumar45 years ago

She came to me and said, "I'm finding it very difficult to manage in the salary, Ma'am. I am also taking a course to improve my skills and I don't want to take money from my father." She quoted a figure which is about 60% higher than her current salary.

I heard her out. My graphic designer has been with me for just over one year and I gave her a raise without a qualm after 12 months. It was a small amount, but the best I could do considering that we are still a bootstrapped and self funded startup.

So I told her that the company would be happy to fund her effort on self improvement (I value that sort of commitment), but I can't offer her as much as she wants. I quoted a figure about 30% higher than I pay her currently.

I also told her that much as it pains me to say it, I would be willing to let her go because I do not wish to curtail the growth of any of my employees. She is a diligent and talented girl and she deserves more.

But, she agreed to the 30% and said, "I don't want to leave just because of the money. I like working under you. Sometimes I cannot even believe that its been 1 year."

On days like these, I wish for instant success, or for a sign that one day my team will reap the benefits of the hardwork we are all putting in together.
image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq