Sort:  

Walks into a party.

"Hey everybody! I don't get why you are all having fun, I mean what's the big deal about a Facebook killing social network that is profitable to be apart of?"

Noone notices and everyone else is still enjoying the party.

"I'm leaving!"

Party continues.

So you found the post! Yay! How did you find it? Where in hell did it show up so that you could even see it?

I keep scrolling down the "New" section for content.

I'm not seeing it. I guess I just get frustrated too easily with sites when I can't figure out how they work. On other sites were I post articles I have the ability to add pictures, links, change fonts, edit certain text to 'bold' or 'italic', etc. I don't see any of that capability on Steemit, although clearly others have found it.

But I'm all for anything that could potentially kill Facebook. I never did join Facebook though, so I never did know how that works either Maybe if I did, this site would make a lot more sense to me. I can't figure out why there is a blog section and then a chatroom. Are the two even related?

Maybe I'm just too old, lol.

The chatroom is separate from Steemit and made by some users on the platform (I forget offhand which devs). My recommendation since you are a stock market kind of guy is to scan through the Steemit whitepaper and read their main site (https://steem.io/) to get a better understanding of the platform.

If you are more just curious about styling

Checkout this guide on using Markdown

Congratulations @albertarocks! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!