Alcohol, Alcoholism, Realism and Cure(?) Part 1 (1951 to 1962)

in #alcohol-alcohol8 years ago (edited)

The following story, cannot be fitted into one post. The posts are going to be the real story of my life at least the first forty-eight years, where alcohol dominated my life.

In these posts, I will offer the gory details in what it entails being a drunk.

It will not be a lecture on drinking, but I would like to show how quickly it can happen.

I would also like to state that no one is safe, from commoners like myself to politicians, prominent businesspeople, Doctor's, Nurses and so the list goes on.

I apologize about the long introduction, but I felt it necessary as to how this story will evolve.

Early Life.
This was me, with my brother and sister, taken shortly before we moved to England.

As stated in my introduction that I was born in Scotland, moved to the North of England at the age of six.

We lived in a mansion house where my father was the gardener(trained professional), I added that in his memory as he was proud of his occupation.

At the age of seven during the summer holidays, we had a boy visiting from Scotland, he was the same age as my brother, approximately three years older than myself.

One day, the three of us were exploring the basement of the house when we came upon a corridor. Very dark and spooky we ventured into the gloom.

After walking a short distance, we came to a door, which we duly opened. Inside was a wine cellar, with rack upon rack of bottles, we did not know what they were.

The adventure continues, I was to be the incumbent as being the youngest of the three; it would be the case that I would also be the taster.

Bottles were selected, uncorking the ones that we were able to open.

The system was as follows, I tasted, if sweet we drunk the contents if the wine was bitter we poured down the nearby drain.

I do not remember anything after a short period of tasting.

My next recollection was waking up in my bed nearly two days later.

Our escapade had caused me to suffer from alcohol poisoning, lucky to be alive. The other two suffered only sickness and sore heads.

Could this be the point where my life changed?.

Teenage Life.

This period in my life will not take up much time, but it is important in the context of the subject.

My mother was the steward of our local golf club, responsibilities included, lunches, snacks, and the licensed bar.

The licensed bar came into play when there was a dance at the local hall. Being of a shy disposition, I found difficulty in a dance environment.

I had the solution; I would go to the bar when my mother was not looking take an empty 'Babycham' bottle from the empty bottle box.

With this bottle in hand, I would go along the optics display and take a shot of each of the evil spirits, whiskey, gin, brandy, etc.

With this potent mix, I would proceed to the dance, to enjoy in a way with my inhibitions gone, with my befuddled brain and my staggering gait.

Waking up in the morning was not a pleasant experience.

Let us move forward to a better phase in my early life.

Starting work.

At the age of seventeen and a half(1960), I took up my dream post as a student nurse. The drink was no longer a problem as my time and thoughts were where I wanted to be.

That was not to last as my life as a nurse was about to curtailed.

My mother ill with depression wanted to return to Scotland. In a family discussion, it would be me that would go to Scotland to secure a house for my parent's and younger sister.

Reluctantly I gave up my training and returned to Scotland, back to our home town.

The next section is where the real problems begin, with all the gory detail of what alcohol does to the body.