A Lichen a Day -- 20 December

in #alichenaday3 years ago

We finally had a day with a bit of sun yesterday--first one in quite a while and today is back to overcast--so I went for a walk with the camera especially to make sure I'd have an expanded variety of shots to share in the days ahead.

I am supposed to be out cleaning the kitchen, starting a pot of pumpkin chili for dinner, and mixing cookie dough to bake with my mother-in-law tomorrow, but I wanted to share one of my new beauties before I got to work.

Today's image:

a blob of witch's butter surrounded by lichen

This is a combination of fungus (the orange witch's butter Tremella mesenterica in the middle) of lichen. Witch's butter is a recent discovery for me and with the weather we've had lately, I found a lot of it. I just think it is awesome so happy to have a shot along with lichen that gives me an "excuse" to share it with you.

Basic stats:

  • ISO 200
  • f/4.5
  • 1/80 sec
  • focal length 11mm
Hope you enjoyed the image and are having a pleasant holiday season, whichever you may celebrate.

 


Posted from my blog with Exxp : http://bex-dk.com/2020/12/20/a-lichen-a-day-20-december/