Dinner at my sister-in-law’s - healthier this time ;)

in #alive6 months ago

Another dinner at my sister-in-law’s house. My sister-in-law was busy running around so the meal was mostly prepared by my wife and i.

Both my mother-in-law and brother-in-law have heart trouble, so we decided to prepare a healthy, yet delicious meal.

Above, prepare cod, i think. The Chinese is 鱈魚. It’s a very soft white meat. We added garlic, ginger, and chili. Then we steamed it. Very healthy and tasty.

This is the chicken soup. Nothing added but chicken, ginger, and shiitake mushrooms. We cooked it for quite a while to make the broth tastier.


This vegetable is Taiwanese lettuce but the Chinese name is mainland China sister- 大陸妹.

String beans which we fry in a light olive oil.

After that, i got kicked out if the kitchen because my sister-in-law came back and she’s the boss of the kitchen. Above is a dish of leeks and octopus.

Here’s the fish after steaming.

String beans, as promised. Cooked with garlic.

Chicken soup. A little oily, but still healthy if you don’t purposely get the oil.

Spinach prepare with garlic and ginger.

Here’s the Taiwanese lettuce. I just searched a little more and it turns out the name i have above is an older term that might be offensive to people from mainland China. So in 2018, Taiwan started to call it 福山萵苣 or mount Fu lettuce instead of mainland sister. I really learned something new today.

And Guava and Apple for dessert.

A lot of dishes had ginger because the seasons are changing in Taiwan. So the day and night temperature differentiate by over 10c.

*all pictures taken by me with iPhone 14.