Alive and Thriving 3/9/2023- Martial Arts Practice

in #alivelast year

Pixabay image at the link below:
https://pixabay.com/images/id-7799207/

Martial arts have been a part of my life since I was young, and has imparted many life lessons. As a child I learned respect, self-confidence, physical fitness regimens and self-defense techniques that have added to my life. Martial arts can help one thrive in life, and I highly recommend anyone learn martial arts during their lifetime.

In the past, I have written about the importance of respect, dedication and persistence in my life’s walk. I learned and augmented these skills and virtues as part of my martial arts training. The movies glorify the kinetic fighting moves almost exclusively of the martial arts and often portray martial arts skills as “mystical”. These attributes seen in the media and movies are not the primary focus of the martial arts, and often the physical fitness, respect, awareness and mental toughness conveyed to the student of martial arts are glossed over. As a martial arts student, you will learn hard and soft skills that will help you thrive in life.

If you want to thrive in this life, physical and mental fitness and acuity are important. Many martial arts defensive strikes and movements can help one avoid loss and harm with minimal affect. Sweeps, blocks and grappling techniques including arm bars can often disable an attacker without causing harm. If one is put into a situation where a conflict becomes physical, knowing how to quickly end the situation is essential. In a conflict, if weapons are used there are often serious consequences and regret that can be avoided with knowledge of self-defense techniques.

Learning martial arts can help with focus on learning in general. As a child, the martial arts helped me focus on learning I needed to do academically and in the dojo. I was a spirited child with lots of energy who needed a physical component to help me focus, and the martial arts filled the role nicely. It helped me succeed in the classroom, as memorizing and mastering forms in the dojo helped me focus. This focus and the requirement to respect my sensei made learning in the classroom more effective, which has led to my success in many areas of my life.

Self-defense and the understanding of methods to avoid confrontation are important. As a martial artist, the preferred method of self-defense is threat detection and avoidance. Being aware of one’s surroundings and avoiding areas and situations where danger could abound are key to staying alive and thriving.

I highly recommend the martial arts to anyone. A child or an elder will be able to learn skills, build confidence and demystify self-defense. Physical fitness involved in the dojo can help with many of the chronic-health issues we experience in the modern age. If you join a dojo to learn martial arts skills expect to be challenged mentally and physically and expect to grow through criticism that leads to mastery. I hope you decide to join up or continue down your journey this year, and I promise you will see results.

Thank you for reading my blog. Join me again tomorrow and feel free to leave a comment to speak about the merits and benefits of martial arts training.

#alive #aliveandthriving #wearealive