Cloudy Day prior to Eclipse

I have been really looking forward to the Solar Eclipse that is to happen on Saturday, October 14th. But I got up this morning and it was very overcast and I started to worry that I would not be able to see the rare solar eclipse that is called the "Ring of Fire" eclipse.

cloudy day prior to eclipse.PNG

I live in central Texas and really do not remember the last solar eclipse that I have experienced. I am very, very lucky this year as this area will experience two solar eclipses in the matter of six months. The next one will happen in April 2024.

I have read lots of articles that have been published lately regarding the solar eclipse being able to be seen here in Central Texas. They are expecting 100's of thousands of eclipse chasers to come to the area so it will be very good for the economy from tourism.

https://www.austinmonthly.com/everything-you-need-to-know-about-the-solar-eclipse-in-central-texas/

But when I was sitting on the bed looking out the window I was getting more worried that I would not be able to get to see this rare experience because of the clouds.

looking out bedroom window.PNG

I have a telescope that I will be placing out on the back porch and ordered a camera holder for it so that I can take some photos. That device will not be here until later today.

I will not get very much time to experience with the mount adapter to ensure it fits and how to properly work it. But I guess you could say this will be the trial run for the eclipse in April.

tempsnip.png

Tomorrow, I will be posting photos of the eclipse that I am able to take even if I cannot get this to work I will still take photos. Wish me luck since I have never taken photos of an event like this before.

Sort:  

I hope it all goes well, @darmst5339! I've been through two complete solar ecslipes, and they are quite amazing to say the least! Day becomes night, and then soon day once again! It's like the sunrise, but in the middle of the sky! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

This was a ring of fire eclipse so did not get totally dark. It was very amazing. However I discovered that I needed to have a filter for the camera and/or the telescope to get photos of it. I will need to price these out for the next eclipse which is in April. Take care.
!ALIVE

Ah, OK, that makes sense! When I saw 'ring of fire', I thought it was referring to being visible in the ring of fire in the Pacific Ocean...😂 I'm glad that you appreciated it! Yes, I actually though to mention that you'd need a filter to both look at, and photograph, the eclipse. We used small pieces of polarized glass, which worked very well! I wish you success for April! Thank you, and very likewise! Have a fantastic Tuesday! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

@tydynrain! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ darmst5339. (1/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Hope you get plenty of good pictures, it will be sad if those clouds block the view have the best one @darmst5339

Made in Canva
!ALIVE

- @benthomaswwd - Moderator


This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #aliveandthriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving, plus @youarealive is following our Curation Trail.

That is the truth, hoping for no clouds to block the view. I am really looking forward to experiencing it and taking lots of photos. Take care.
!ALIVE

I wish you ideal photographic conditions, @darmst5339! Full solar eclipses are incredible experiences! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙



Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

@darmst5339! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ aliveandthriving. (4/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

@aliveandthriving! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ darmst5339. (1/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

@darmst5339! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ aliveandthriving. (22/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.