You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Knowledge, Goals and the Value of Triangulation in Steemit

Wow, great stuff. Thanks for sharing your experience - I just joined this week and this post really resonated with me. I haven't seen "Thirteenth Floor" or "Enemy" yet... I'm adding those to my que, so thanks for those recommendations too. Reading your post, I think you and me are of very like minds, my friend. All the best to you, and I had not resteemed anything until now, but I think people need to hear about you. Way t' be!

Sort:  

Hey @bbblackwell,

I greatly appreciate your feedback and having read your work, especially the one you just posted: "Opening the Gate to Wisdom: The Ancient Trivium", I agree we are very much like minded!

Enemy is very cerebral... but worth it! Also, add Gattaca if you have not watched it- it has many layers which I think people miss.

I have resteemed your work as I think people need to read more quality material like this. A favourite quote of mine is:

"Knowledge is like money: to be of value it must circulate, and in circulating it can increase in quantity and, hopefully, in value."
~ Louis L'Amour

Knowledge is something we tend to hoard as we believe it confers power on us. I believe in the power of sharing knowledge liberating us from 'bounded rationality' and increasing wisdom.

It is good to have crossed paths with you in this vast forum!

Peace,
shenobie

Great quote! Absolutely, knowledge must be shared. And although truth is unified and eternal, there are infinite methods and mediums for expressing it. Each individual who seeks to spread knowledge adds something of themselves into the mix, making old insights fresh and new again. In this way, I guess we could say it’s all about ineraction: relating with truth, and each other. It’s really a beautiful thing.

When we covet knowledge, we do so because we feel insecure and seek control. It’s a failure of faith and true intelligence, since we all ultimately rise or fall together. To purposefully withhold knowledge is to put others in bondage to that degree, and where one is enslaved - be it by metal chains or mental ignorance - none are truly free.

And oh yeah, I saw Gattaca for the first time only a month ago - great flick! There was way more to it than I was expecting.