Sort:  

I couldn't be more excited for a feature than I am for sub-communities. Just imagine -- moderating your own sub with the option to run it as a business -- signing up influencers from your niche and earning STEEM from all the great content that comes through your channel. I have a feeling this feature is going to be a key driver for growth - and we are aiming to get it out soon: by the end of q2

To expand on this a bit... how would community leaders or moderators get selected?

everyone could start their own. (I imagine for a fee to prevent spam)

This is a great question, and one I've wanted to know for a while. Each sub will have owners, who would then appoint admins and mods. However, the question is - how does one get ownership over a sub? What if I want to own the "bungeejumping" sub?

I am not sure... that was my question. :) Perhaps Ned agreed with the answer we got?!

Agreed, sub-communities will be a big help for the site including adding direction for a lot of users and posts. End of Q2... It's already near May, get pumped.

Also, an ETA on Hardfork 19 :-) Are there any hiccups for the adoption of the flatten curve?

Our backend team is industry leading in terms of talent -- they're currently crushing the work that needs to be done for this HF -- I hope the community and witnesses adopt it!

Looking forward to it, it is one of the biggest steps to making this step work for the masses.

yes @ned, I think for us " old timers " of steem we know already this, but its always still great to hear this being restated ! HF 19 proposal seems to be winning consensus on the flatline curve, it will be a major step forward to signing new accounts im sure !

I cant wait for this feature, it will be interesting to see how it compares to gplus communities or facebook groups/pages