Superhero Microsoft And Its Amazing Windows

in #amazing6 years ago (edited)

I hope at least someone would hear the irony when I say "superhero" Microsoft and "amazing" Windows. Honestly, they are driving me crazy, in general, and especially last week or so with their newest updates. I hardly wait to switch on Mac entirely!

I'm not saying Mac would be completely bug-free, but I'm sure it would be 90% less the pain in the ass (pardn my French) than Windows currently are.

Microsoft and WindowsOwn derivative work with images and illustrations from Pixabay. Credits to mohamed_hassan for development, to Clker-Free-Vector-Images for windows-logo, and to Simon for microsoft-logo, all used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

However, the thing is that last ten days the superhero-ish almighty Microsoft who is traditionally capable of launching some semi-finished products full of known and unknown bugs which products were, of course, previously heavy promoted as extraordinary, ultra perfect and ultimate must-haves, did it again with that newest update.

As first, their perfect update doesn't want to install itself or at least not in full on my machine. Therefore, at least once a day the system persistently tries to restart my computer and install the missing updates.

Do I have to say that it does that without any announcement, over a sudden when it feels like it, and no matter if it is convenient for me or not?! Accordingly, do I have to tell you how many times it did it to me in the middle of some work, and of course without saving it and by killing at least the half if not whole of whatever I have been working on?!

DeleteImage Source: Pixabay. Credits to geralt for delete, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

But that's not all! There is more! Yesterday, I called my accountant with the request to give me some specific filtered data that I needed from the previous period. Usually, for them, it would be a task of 4 or 5 clicks of pulling the data out of the program and including the "send" button click by which they would send it to me by mail. But not yesterday!

Yesterday, he told me, as the situation looks at the moment, he wouldn't be able to do that (I was calling in the morning) before a late afternoon or even tomorrow (today) morning. I was like, "Whaaat??? Why would it take you so long? Are you going to draw that for me???

"Don't joke Ana-Maria!" - he said seriously. "I'm already nuts!"
Oooh, oooh! "There must be something seriously wrong," I thought as he is the man who is always remarkably calm, reasonable and down to earth. In fact, I don't recall him acting differently ever before, even not in most pressing and stressful situations, and we know each other for over 20 years by now.

Computer ProblemImage Source: Pixabay. Credits to OpenClipart-Vectors for computer-problem, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

As I was shockingly silent (otherwise atypical for me), he started to explain what happened. Yesterday, famous Windows 10 he had on all the computers in the company, more or less at the same time automatically started to download and install the new updates.

The whole thing ended up (after the download and installation have been finished) by slowing down every single computer in the office to the extent, as he described, "It takes us 10 minutes literally to process five numbers through the program. Insane!"

To make the whole situation even worse, the thing was that yesterday they were expecting some financial inspection and revision from local authorities for one of the companies he is doing the bookkeeping too. As we both know that those inspectors usually are not very compassionate and full of understanding, he asked me, "What I'm going to show them now?"

Hearing him so desperate and confused for the first time, I couldn't resist so I said, "I think you should go and buy a tent, as those inspectors, apparently are going to camp in your office for the next month waiting for the data. And don't worry about me," I added, "It's not urgent, and I'll be fine. Besides, you just discovered to me that Windows was amazing and very gentle with me. In fact, I almost feel blessed by Microsoft."

After I have shortly described him my situation, he was already laughing at the time; he told me, "Yeah, right! I would also feel blessed by Microsoft if my devices were smart enough not to allow the new updates to install fully as your device was. I could leave with restarts every few hours. This way it seems, I've been cursed with these snail-speed computers, which need several hours only to begin the restart."


So much about almighty Microsoft and its famous Windows. I can't wait for the day when finally someone would create some new operating system that would be affordable and adopted by masses to finally take away that buggy and monopolistic Microsoft.
Mac might be a good alternative if it's not that pricey.


Posted on Friday, May 18, 2018


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges

Sort:  

Thank you for using our service!
We are glad to be able to support your original and quality content.
Happy Steeming & Steem On!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.93$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

I've been using Ubuntu since 2007 but have used Windows and Apple and I do not like how they spy on us like Facebook, Google, Twitter, and others. I like Ubuntu as it is free unlike Microsoft.

Yeah, I hate that spying part the most too. Not to mention their constant ability to access the machine and, in fact, being able to do whatever they want to do.

However, there is one thing I would like to ask you regarding Ubuntu, and what is my main problem when such other OS would be in question. How do you overbridge the 'problem' when you need to use different programs which are mainly built for Windows? (Some are not even available for Mac, although it's less and less the case but still existing.)

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 1.79$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 1.54$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Well post a very good friend always enjoy posting this friend .. salam introduction

I used to be a technical support for both mac and windows computer before. You can feel free to contact me when this kind of situation strikes again (:

Thank you for the kindly offered help! I like to hope it wouldn't be needed. 😉🙂