Bruny Island's White Wallabies, Tasmania

in #amazingnature4 years ago

IMG_5135s.JPG

Bruny Island, just a short ferry ride off the South-East coast of Tasmania, is home to white wallabies. Some are white due to a genetic mutation and others are albinos. All are a variant of the Bennett's Wallaby, Tasmania's version of the Red-necked Wallaby.

IMG_5140t.JPG

I recently visited Bruny Island and I hoped to see the white wallabies. Staying in Adventure Bay on South Bruny, we were pointed to Hayden Street, a small side street, where it was said they hung out. No luck, but on the morning we were leaving, we spotted one in a ditch.

IMG_5163s.JPG

It was a small one and probably not too happy as there had been rain overnight.

You can see my previous post on a big Bennett's Wallaby for comparison.

IMG_5133t.JPG

When it realized I wasn't a threat, it went back to feeding but took off suddenly when a dog barked.

IMG_5165s.JPG

Look at it go!

IMG_5168s.JPG

Then one last pose and it was gone.

References

"Hoppy" the Bennett's Wallaby, Tasmania
The White Wallabies of Bruny Island

Images

Photos taken with my Canon SX620 HS on Bruny Island, Tasmania, Australia.

Follow footer.gif

Follow me for more of my Tasmanian adventure.
@kansuze

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank You!