My Steem Ambassador Application

in #ambassadorapplication6 years ago (edited)

Introduction


I joined the Steem Blockchain in August 2017 with little or no background except that I can blog and be paid for it. It was an excellent idea because I write as my release and to be paid for it was an awesome idea. I was a litigation lawyer of 12 years practice. My area of practice is finance and construction law. I left legal practice to be consultant on blockchain technology with a little assistance and encouragement from my dear friend Colbert Lau (founder of Celebrus Advisory), one of the leading consultant in Southeast Asia. I still provide my feedback on White Papers for ICOs from the legal perspective during my free time as I am now employed full time as a legal advisor to Chinese Company from China.

I act for banks as a counsel for appellate matters and some cases that I had acted as counsel and has changed the landscape of of law in my country can be found in these cases:-

Some Legal Articles I Blogged


There are some legal articles that I had blogged through the platform and it can be found in the link below:-

Building Communities


I started blogging quite accidentally. Wasn't earning much and was struggling to stay afloat in the Steem Community as a blogger. Approached a friend of mine by the name of @sireh, got him onboard. @sireh is a lecturer in the Creative Multimedia University and one of the leading cartoonist in Malaysia. Together with some planning we managed to create a community of our own and we named it #steem-cartoon. This community was formed through our sweat and hours of convincing industry leaders that this is the new media for marketing content and excellent reach. They tried and the result was extraordinary and rewarding. We managed to hit a collection of SBD 19,000 after 77 days of formation of our community under the tag #steem-cartoon.

01Cover.jpg
(@sireh took it as far as promoting steem blockchain on the national television)

We carried out talks and events in the National Museum and Universities

08.jpg
(@perennial (myself), @abgmie (one of the top cartoonist in Malaysia) and Deputy Director of National Museum)

a01Cover.jpg

We created our own mascot and we call him Wo-owl ...

blinking owl.gif

Then we brought our programs into local universities to expand on #steem-cartoon community

SteemMMU02.jpg
(me addressing the crowd on the steem blockchain and blogging in the new media)

SteemMMU00Cover.jpg

Second Community


We did not stop at the first community. We realised that many individuals out there that join steemit are unable to find support and we thought no better person to understand the plights of minnows other than minnows themselves. So with @calebleejl and @zhusatriani we formed the second community called #steem-music. I am a trained classical guitarist and music is a big part of my life and I thought there is no better way to give back to the community apart from introducing them this platform.


(our maiden presentation in the Sultan Idris University)

We came up with our banner...

Banner Steem-Music (1000x400) (1).jpg

Through this effort we manage to convince established youtubers to join the steemit platform and now they are regular contributors. We have the likes of @edward-ong and @joanneandjulia to name a few.


(@edward-ong performing his percussive fingerstyle to the crowd on behalf of #steem-music)

Our Outreach to Other Communities


Our effort in reaching out to more communities didn't stop. In fact in gained traction. We didnt get good upvotes but with the support and cheer from our community we felt there is a sense of purpose and we soldiered on. We continued to spread the message that steemit can be a fun place with art and music


(@sireh doing a caricature in an event hosted by #teammalaysiababes during a Chinese New Year gathering)


(I performed to the crowd on behalf of #steem-music)

We believe that our community is about support and camaraderie. We do not have whales or dolphins in our community yet and our upvotes and trails are insufficient to make be significant but many of us stayed and persevere because it has become fun and engaging. This is the culture that we wish to inculcate.

Why Steem Blockchain


I believe that there is no better platform that ride the current trend of infusing both the social media and blockchain technology into one viable and credible system. There is a death of the printed media in my country and the music industry is nowhere near how other countries have progressed. Hence the breath of fresh air brought about through the steem blockchain is very much revolutionary.

The first 77 days of #steem-cartoon existence we have seen good support from other communities and there is better visibility as a community and we like the system of interdependence. What makes this blockchain special is that the reward can be quite lucrative and it promotes community building rather than individual endeavour.

My Reason to be a Steem Ambassador


I find that one of the drawbacks in building community is the inability to reward good talents. There are many times when we take more effort than necessary to attract attention of certain individual or community to give the support that the talent so needs. In a position as an ambassador I would be in better stead to lead the communities and provide them with a good leverage for their post.

In many communities people believe in engaging whales and convincing them to be part of the community. We are not able to find such support but instead we build a different culture altogether. We fall back on the cheer and support of the minnows. It is one tough walk, hence being an ambassador would be the a pair of crutches that can help me extend a better reach to do the needful.

My Plans as an Ambassador


We have our fortnightly gig in Liberal Latte, a coffee house where we constantly meet new communities. We encourage new faces to appear and sing with us or even just to sit down and listen to our music. We engage these communities as we believe that our reach is more than just online presence. We are prepared to give the extra hours in our own expense to give better exposure to our artists and musicians find a strong, sustainable and viable platform.

Where to from here? We plan to do more outreach programs in local institutions of higher learning. We find that engaging these youngsters is a healthy alternative to senseless social media engagement. Here it is akin to killing two birds with one stone, improve on their talent and quenching their thirst for affirmation and social engagement all in one platform.

I enjoy what I am doing and there is no better way to express it than through my community in our share and greet sessions. I am also an invited speaker for Blockchain events mostly related to the legal perspective and that is where I do share some of my experience in Steemit.

DSC04694.jpg

This is an event that is organised by #teammalaysiababes but more on violence against woman rather than the blockchain.

DSC04709.jpg
(me performing in Liberal Latte where we meet and greet different communities)

Sort:  

I will need to check out some more of your programming in depth, but this looks like you've really been busy promoting steem! That's awesome, You get my upvote. Thanks for your hard work!

hi sir, thank you for your support. We have been promoting steem blockchain because the income generated from blogging really helps the two communities that I am in...#steem-carton and #steem-music. We do fortnightly gigs too for steem-music and this is one of them...

LL03.jpg
(@bitrocker2020 and myself last friday during the 3rd community outreach program for #steem-music in celebration of International Women's Day)

That's good to hear!

Wow! You are a man of many hats! Good job with #steem-cartoon & #steem-music. I am inspired how you grew these two communities and link them together. It falls nicely with us #teammalaysiababes too because we love creatives and music, and most importantly the friendships. Thank you for supporting us as well and extending your arms to help us grow together.

We are all about the minnows and support.

great to have you as our ambassador @perennial

So glad to see the community growing 😍 now with #teammalaysiababes supporting our event, awesome ! 😊

I can’t think of a more suitable candidate as @perennial has not only his skills and talents and ideas to offer, but also his time. availability is the greatest ability!

Wow ! Essay 😆

Yes my essay edward boi. Wanna kena isit?

Hope u will get the ambassadorship!!

I can't wait to contribute to the communities that you're pushing. Do let me know how I can help.

Come as our guest this 10th march. Bukit damansara. Just enjoy urself

I remember a few of our first conversations on discord. I am proud of the steemian you have become and it swells my heart with hope that we can all make more stories like this come around more often. Keep it up!

Thanks man...do drop by more often. Whatever u have going around i am here to assist in anyway possible.

I appreciate that P and I am, its been too long since we talked. Normally I wouldn't ask for help but i'd love if you help get me players for my game! Its centered around promoting commmunities and having them team up. Raised over 74 steem as a prize. WITHOUT sponsors!
Because you asked old friend :p

I am definitely gonna assist coz u are an old friend...let me gather the gamers.

animated1520150364547.gif
Gamers for the win.

I am so impressed by the good work you are doing @perennial, you are literally steeming ahead and the progress you have made in such a short time is amazing. I am thinking of trying to approach a community here, with a friend who speaks bulgarian so we can give people this wonderful opportunity. I just wish the snow would go so I could get to work.

The snow will give you some time to plan before the execution. U should give community building a try. Its more lasting and u get goof friends for the long haul.

You're great bro...

I love the hard work that you've done for these communities... investing your time, heart, soul, vision and emotions... Sometimes to the extend I believed you shouldn't... cause it consumed you a lot... Either ways, I salute you for that...

I strongly believe we should build our community based on creativity, knowledge, fun loving, friendship, trust, honesty, supportive and friendly to all communities... no matter we get the support back or not...

I know you can be a great ambassador... you have all the skills...

Good Luck Bro!

Thanks bro. Thx for standing unwavering by my side each time the waves hit. Ur advice is taken in good faith.

Cant denied the hard work that you have put in. Support!

Thanks man. Ur support is much appreciated.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 39 SBD worth and should receive 94 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

power as always :)

thank you pandan...thank you for being a great friend and a good supporter.

My pleasure bro.. ;) hopefully its going to be a well deserved success for you bro!

As a co-founder of both Steem-Cartoon and Steem-Music, @perennial is playing a vital role to build Steemit community in Malaysia... with his hard word and dedication along with few other prominent Malaysian Steemians, we are building the foundation for teammalaysia and we are slowly expanding our network and support to our neighbouring countries.

Hello, Thanks for such a great application and all the fantastic work you have been doing to increase awareness about the steem blockchain and its potential applications!

We at #promo-steem and @steem-ambassador have reviewed your application to become a Steem Ambassador and we are pleased to say that we would like to propose your candidacy to the community per the Application Approval Process HERE!!! :)

In order to proceed we would like to know that you are happy to follow the Steem Ambassador Responsibilities and Guidelines outlined HERE & HERE.

Please respond below with your positive response and we will proceed to propose you to the Steemit community as a Steem Ambassador!!

STEEMON!

I could not be more glad to be part of this effort. I am in and thank you very much for the recognition. I am humbled.