"My People" and "Your People"

in #american7 years ago

ferdinand-stohr-198748.jpg

As we debate the issues about whether or not to kneel for the anthem I notice that many Americans are taking sides based on race. We are saying things like "My People" and "Your People". I am forced to question this mentality. Isn't this one country?
Our ancestors came here as a separate people and had every right to say "My People", but when they became American citizens then we all became "One People".
When we as American citizens talk about ourselves we should instead say"Our People", Else be become a nation permanently divided by our own words.
As long as we continue to group ourselves by race we will never be a strong Nation united, but instead, a weak Nation divided.

This my original content from my FB post.