Analog Photography

in #analog6 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians, 

in times of automated cameras with tons of features and different options, I often take a step back and shoot with my analog camera. Iso, Shutter speed and aperature is all that matters. For me, it's one of the purest forms to take pictures with. The sound when you press the shutter release gives me  pure joy every time.

Camera: 

I use my Rolleiflex Sl35 with a Zeiss 50mm/f. 1.8, which I got from my grandmothers' brother and was my first camera. It was a little bit tricky to learn photography with it, but it showed me my love for photography. With an analaog camera you put much more emphasis on your picture, because you've only got a limited amount of them on your roll, so you plan every detail, while shooting just to get that one picture.

Analog vs. Digital 

There is no real winner in the debate between analog and digital. Both of them are unique to shoot with. Since you only have a limited amount of pictures on your roll, you don't try to shoot everything you see. You only shoot the things that are important to you. With the limited amount you shoot less, which results in you not having many pictures to practice with. The digital camera in comparison lets you shoot thousands of pictures before needing to change the memory card. Since you can instantly see your picture, it is very easy to improve on the spot or change settings to better the shot. With an analog camera you have to develop them before you review them. 


I often reach for my analog if I have a creative block. I don't know why, but there's something about shooting with this camera that brings my passion for photography back. There's just you, the camera and nothing else. Framing the shot, focusing your subject, changing shutterspeed and aperature and then ....... Click! Your shoot is now physically on your roll. 


Which camera type is better now? I don't know. I love shooting with both of them. On some days I feel like shooting with my digital, on others with my analog. Both have their ups and downs and I think that every photographer should own both. You improve different skills while shooting with different cameras. Try both of them it will change how you see the world through the viewfinder. 


If you have any questions about analog photography go for it! I'm here to help! 


Keep your eyes open!

@laumi

Sort:  

This is a great post! I couldn't agree with you more. I also have a film camera with a Zeiss lens and it is my absolute favourite to shoot with! You are so right about shooting film and being more careful with the images you take I think it's a really good way to learn to be more focused on what you are photographing. Which sometimes when you are taking photos with a digital camera it is easy to get carried away and just take thousands of photos and only have a few good ones!! Following!

Thank you! I totally agree with you about being more focused on what you are shooting. I think that I improved a lot while shooting analog. Just read your blog about hawaii. Keep up the good work!

Yes for sure!
Oh thanks so much! :D

Yes for sure!
Oh thanks so much! :D

Well done. I'm since ~ 40 years in film photography ;)

You should give pinhole a try, best as a medium format camera.

Pinhole cameras have interested me a lot but I'm not developing my own film and the store where I develop only takes rolls. But if I'm getting into developing I'll definetly try pinhole cameras out.

There are also 35mm pinhole available ;)
B/W home development is a easy thing.
I see you're located in Vienna ... there Lomography has a branch and a development center they do 120/220, if you are in good luck you can get you there a pinhole Holga 120, or a Diana pinhole for a few €.
I think CeWe runs also a development center in Austria (the develop for drugstores, etc.) and they also do 120/220, very cheap.

i still prefer the digital one because of convenience. i guess if you've really learned the craft of photography then it doesn't matter which one to use.

Everybody has their favorite system. As is said sometimes i feel my digital sometimes my analog. But i agree with you that the digital one is more convenient. Usually I go for my digital.

Lovely photos. I honestly love the constraints of film photography and have no interest in shooting digital. Having to wait for a roll to be developed and then scanning all the negatives myself really pushes me to get the best out of my photos I think.

I agree with you that the waiting for your developed photos pushes you. But with a digital camera you can change the settings on the spot if you aren't happy with the shot.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by laumi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I adore analog photography, I like that it forces you to think and try many different angles and settings before shooting.

I would think it helps you train your eye a bit more, since you can shot endlessly with digital, and therefore put less effort in things you can sort out by choosing the best picture out of a hundred you have, and by editing things you could have gotten right when you shot.

Loved to read your post! :)