My First Anarchapulco Experience Went Great! (Part 1)

in #anarchapulco6 years ago (edited)

I'm so glad I went to Anarchapulco this year! I wanted to go last year and it didn't work out. I was set on going this year, and it ended up being one of the best times of my life! I love going to new places, and I'm an info-junky always seeking truth and understanding. So Anarchapulco seemed like a good idea to me. But it actually exceeded my expectations. I didn't realize I would be meeting my tribe.

Of course, I knew I'd be with like-minded people. But I've never connected with people at any conference the way I did at this one. There's something special that happened at Anarchapulco. It wasn't just me either. I heard many other people say it was their best trip ever. I'm a bit of an odd ball. I'm really interested in natural health, but I've learned a lot in many other areas too. Usually you'll either be at a health seminar, or some other kind. Anarchapulco was different because it had a lot of other seminars going on before and after it, such as Dayna Martin's peaceful parenting and Larken Rose's Candles In The Dark. I did a video response post to Candles In The Dark here on steemit.

We flew through Mexico City and rode a bus to Acapulco. It was cheaper to do it that way, even after you factor in the bus ride. Plus we were able to see another city we wouldn't have otherwise. We appreciated driving between the two places so we could see what it looked like.

Feelings of joy hit me as soon as we got to the Princess Hotel. The lobby looked great and they had beautiful water.
IMG_2837.jpg
IMG_2840.jpg
IMG_2777.jpg

We had a great view from our balcony.

IMG_2658.jpg

We caught a few beautiful sunset too.

IMG_2666.jpg
IMG_2728.jpg

The hotel looked great at night. I'm a fan of uplighting on a building. It certainly brought the Princess Hotel to life at night.
IMG_2739.jpg

We met many great people, including people whose work I have been following for years. I've never met so many people that have been so influential in my life in such a short time.

We met Mike Maloney. I found his book, Rich Dad's Guide To Investing In Gold & Silver, as soon as it came out in the bookstore in 2008. I had a stack of books I was going to look through and maybe I would be one. I started reading it first and got hooked right away. To this day I've never been so into reading a book! I was reading it at the stop lights. After he generously agreed to take a photograph, I told him that story.
IMG_2735.jpg

I interviewed Mike Maloney but I haven't finished editing the video yet. So you'll have to follow me and wait for it. Luckily, I was able to interview a lot of great people, such as Dayna Martin, Larken Rose, Bernhard Guenther, and a few attendees. Here's Gunther's interview:

I even did a video of my own. I figured being at Anarchapulco was a good time to tell my story of how I became an anarchist.

There's lots more to the story. I'll be creating new posts to tell the rest of it. I'll also be uploading video interviews to Dtube and my Youtube channel so follow me on Youtube too. Upvote Follow Resteem GIF.gif

Sort:  

Dude awesome!
I’ve wanted to get there the last couple years and I just dropped the bal and didn’t follow through. After reading and watching ur post I know I have to be there next year! The way describe urself matches me to a tea! I’m excited to book my trip in 2019
And this time for real!

Awesome stuff. Glad to hear you had a good trip. Steem love coming your way.

wow !! very...very...beautiful and make comfortable eye looking, steady!

Those are amazing photos. I'm glad it went well :) I hope to be able to make it next year, if I can.

I'm following you now, btw. I'll interview you in person next year if you go. Just hmu.

Thanks! It went better than I expected. And I had high expectations. I think it's definitely worth the trip. HMU if you go next year. I think it would be even better if a bunch of us planned to connect, but we were meeting people left and right, which was the best part. Next year I'll stay for Anarchaforko, which is for steemians.

Cool, awesome. If I can make it, as in overcome my anxiety enough to be able to go. It would be great to connect :) I have a great feat ahead of me, but I am determined.

Any idea what causes your anxiety? People? Did something happen to cause it?

Oh yes: narcissistic abuse. When CPTSD hit me intensely, I got all these other things with it, anxiety, burnout, depression. Got rid of depression already, working on all the others. I've not taken public transportation in years. Part of it is a fear of encountering the narc/psychopath who abused me. I know what to do if I do, so that fear has gone, partly. Another part of the anxiety has to do with all these scary thoughts I still get, what-if scenarios, of not feeling safe. Another part is panic in public, how o cope if it happens, etc. I'm addressing all these things through EFT and working each symptom one at a time. Some sessions it's mroe anxiety that I work on, other times, a trauma based symptom, etc.

Before that, I was always anxious, feeling unsafe, trauma bonded in my mother's womb being sick at birth due to dairy allergy (the whole milk) and my mother who is supposed to protect me was not a safe person because her breast milk was making me sick because she was drinking cow's milk.

Knowing all this helps. Hopefully I can rewire those parts of my brain to change my belief systems to know that I am safe and I can be safe myself and that I am protected by my intuition. What frustrates me is that knowing all this does not make it go away, so I am still scared to go outside and onto a bus, for example. It just won't go away on its own, so I've got to do all the hard work ;)

great post! :)

Looks like a great time! Due to finances, aiming for my first attendance next year. Cya there!

I hear you. I missed out last year and I'm soooo glad I didn't this time. I'm thinking about doing a bunch of videos next year, so hmu if you go and maybe you'll be in one. Stay focused, and get your tix in advance because it will sell out early.

Sounds good and certainly counting on next year. Self employed and going to write it off as business education. Such like minded people around, Anarchy is my family.

Btw if you attended all days, how would you rate the speakers, events and the workshops? looking to most forward to cryptopulco.

Looks totally fab, can't wait to go myself.

I have been wanting to go also. Maybe next year!

Awesome, upvoted, follow and resteem

Thank you so much!

I can't wait to go. I'm trying to make sure I can get there next year. I missed out this year bc I couldn't get off of work.

Don't miss out next year. Trust me, it's worth it. My fav one yet.

For sure. I'm trying to find a job that's not statist like I'm doing now. I hate working for a state prison. Hopefully next year I'll be away from it and able to join in on all the fun!

That's a terrible job. You should quit right now. There has to be a better job than that. Not to sound too harsh, but it sounds like there's a reason you weren't able to come this year. Funny how it was because of your work too.

You don't want to be there telling people what you do for a living. You don't want to be there hiding your dirty little secret either.

You're completely right. An anarchist stuck in between a rock and hard place.

wow !! very...very...beautiful and make comfortable eye looking, steady!