You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Polite Pirates

in #anarchy6 years ago (edited)

I once had a conversation with an ex-cop. I argued that every time a police officer gives someone a speeding ticket, that the cop is being an immoral asshole because nothing bad actually happened. The rules got broken, and nothing more. I argued that if I was speeding and caused an accident, then I'd deserve a ticket. The police are obviously cherry picking when and where to uphold the law. If a major company did something illegal that stole from thousands of people, the cops wouldn't do anything until after the trial.

His counter-argument was this. "But if I stop them speeding, and just let them off with a warning, and then they go on to get into an accident, I am now liable."

I told him, but the person still didn't actually do anything wrong. Breaking rules is not wrong. Doing something wrong is wrong. If the cop gets in trouble, that's on him and the shitty system.

He had no response. Looked at me for a while, and then nodded in agreement.

Police officer, btw, is very very high on Dr. Robert Hare's list of the most common professions adopted by psychopaths.

There are decent people that are cops. I am friends with some. But I also believe that it's a profession that brings out the bad in people more than the good.

Sort:  

Keep in mind that all cops are no more than welfare, pirates with guns.

Can someone explain why a policeman who has an annual salary of $40,000 a year- Has a two story house, a bassboat, an offshore fishing boat, a new class C RV, a corvette, and a new Mustang or Camaro- and lets not forget about the swimming pool and all his kids attend private school. Where does that extra "funding" come from? Im all ears, spare me no detail.

details and side work.

Using taxpayer funded police car, and gasoline on the taxpayers dime. Must be nice.