You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Promise of Crypto-Anarchy...

in #anarchy6 years ago

not really well informed about this, but a few years back I heard that the 3-d printed guns suck compared to regular ones. Did this improve significantly?

Then there is the question about ammunition. If you use a shotgun you can quite simply manufacture yourself, but normal rounds could be made illegal?

Sort:  

The 3D-Printed Liberator pistols were more a philosophical victory than a practical one. They work, but obviously, I wouldn't recommend carrying one for self-defense or anything.

What's practically more important, in my opinion, are things like the Feinstein mag for AR-15's and such. They completely subvert the magazine bans imposed in some states and locales, and they work just as well as any you would purchase from a gun supplier.

As far as ammunition, I'm not really sure. I know reloading is a thing, but I feel it would depend upon where you live as to whether or not that would be legal. If I were to have a concern, it would lie with ammunition for the guns the media has been focused on for awhile: rifle ammo.

What's important in my article above is that gun control is now effectively dead: Defense Distributed uploads the CAD files and anyone in the world who has access to the Internet and 3D printer/CNC machining device can create their own means of self-defense, without much technical expertise.

Thanks for your comment!