You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When will we wake up?

in #anarchy5 years ago

Thank you for the respectful reply. Though I no longer hold the same religious beliefs I once did, I can appreciate where you're coming from. When I was in that mindset, I found responses to Romans 13 type arguments helpful, but what really impacted me, I think, was studying logical fallacies and realizing that the version of authority I believed in was, in many ways, completely shaped by the religious (I'd argue, man made) traditions I was a part of. If I changed my alliance traditionally, I would find myself with a new set of authority, meaning it wasn't as final as I once believed.

As I go into in my post, I'm all about voluntary, earned authority. That's totally cool with me. When I talk about the myth, I mean that which drives humans to do things due to unearned authority, often held in place with violence.

Thanks for being open to ideas along your journey.