Day 3 Anarchapulco (Part 2): A Small World

in #anarchy11 days ago (edited)

I didn't want my 3rd day post too long yesterday, so I decided to split it into two pieces.
If you'd like to read my earlier Anarchapulco posts, then please find them here:
Arrived Safe and Sound in Acapulco
The Anarchapulco Opening Ceremony for volunteers, staff and speakers
Sunday: The Anarchapulco Launch Party
Day 1 Anarchapulco Monday - Not as Planned
My youngest son getting his blessings at the opening ceremony at Anarchapulco
A Familiar Face and her Silk/Circus Act at Anarchapulco 2024
Day 3 Anarchapulco: Another FIRST Decentralized Social Media Platform 😆

2.jpg

My new friend Jay, and yours truly rocking my Hive T-shirt

┍━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━━♥♠♣♦━━━━━┑

A Chance meeting with a friend of a friend

So yesterday I wrote about the panel I listened to, and the guy announcing yet another first ever decentralized social media platform based on blockchain. I had a good laugh about it, approached most of the people that were on the panel (except for the person in question, because somehow he got away LOL), and I was a little mad because I was the only Hivean there...

I walked to the back to get myself a drink, when a guy sitting at a table with a few others took a look at my Hivefest T-shirt and yelled: "Heyyyy, Hive! I know that!"
He was really the first person there who did actually know Hive. They invited me to sit with them, and we talked about how he knew Hive.
He told me that he was on 'the other platform' before and during the fork to Hive, but that he hadn't been very active those days. After the fork, he realized that he had just received a few thousand Hive in his account, which was a nice surprise.
And then he told me that he has a friend who used to make a living posting on the one we don't speak about (well, I guess I am now) and Hive back in the day, and that it got her through some hard times. I figured it'd be a small chance that I knew her, but asked who his friend was anyway.
Turns out it's Aislinn, or @trucklife-family as I know her here...Well, I'll be damned.
So Jay (that's his name) and I had a friend in common.
I told him that I did know her, not personally unfortunately, but that I'd known her from pretty much the beginning of our time on Steemit/Hive.
What a coincidence! (Although I don't believe in coincidences. Small world!

Anyway, a selfie of us two was in order, and finally, I could show off the shirt hahaha.

I got to hang out with Jay a couple of times throughout the event, and also with the Texan couple Sarah and Nick at the table. The coolest people are met by accident. Hah!

image.png
Me and my new friends Sarah and Nick from Texas

So it was a good thing that I left the panel in a bad mood, or I might not have met some of the coolest people at the event. Everything happens for a reason!

bye text.png


imageedit_0_8411722046.png


As an affiliate with ledger, I receive a percentage of the sales generated through this link

Sort:  

That's a cool shirt! And it's much cooler to meet random people with whom we are unexpectedly connected. Hmmm. Maybe not too random, really.

Thank you! Yes, I love the shirt too :) I was wearing it with pride. No, I don't think it was a random connection either. Friends for life seems like a better term.

That's so cool that you met J, he's a great guy, a good friend as well. He messaged me when after ye met and send me a similar photo. I'm so busy at the moment so not really posting so much at the moment. Hope I get to catch up with you in real life one day xxx

Yeah, it was his idea to take the photo and send it to you haha.
Such a nice surprise when he told me your name.
And yes, he is a pretty great guy. I got to hang out with him a few more times, including our last night in Acapulco, which was surprising as we met a few really cool locals.
And yes, I can feel there's a live meeting on the books one day!
Maybe Hivefest in Spain one day...(I know it won't be this year, but you didn't hear that from me)