Sort:  

Solid account of Mill. Mill was a huge influence on my boy William James. That said, I am more of a Jamesion when it comes to the issues of "harm" and social construction. In fact, I would argue the role of tobacco is a perfect example. Mill suggests that there is "inherent" harm within smoking, whereas James would point out that the "harm" of smoking did not become "real"until it started to influence "other" beliefs, i.e., the belief that we should live long and die "naturally" vs. the belief that it is better to never have been born at all; second best is to die soon.

Good stuff!

That's really interesting, I'm surprised I haven't heard of William James until now, that's a really interesting distinction he makes, I'll have to check him out.

Thanks very much!

William James is my favorite philosopher, and that is coming from someone that has a PhD in philosophy! I really think James is one of the most underrated/respected philosophers of all time, not to mention one of the most influential Americans we have ever had!

If you check out my "blog" I have some stuff on James, including a lecture I gave on James's view of Habits!

Sweet, I'll do that. Followed :)