You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LIVE from Defense Distributed with Cody Wilson (Liberty Under Attack Radio)

in #anarchy6 years ago

Okay, I wasn't 100% sure what post-modernist statement you were talking about. I probably could have challenged him a bit on that point; maybe I should have. Next time. I agree, it seems like a self-detonating statement.

In regards to peaceful parenting, what I mean is that it's great libertarians/anarchists are talking about use of force issues (i.e. spanking). But, that's typically where the conversation ends. Anarchism is a radical position -- even the minarchists that founded so-called "America" understood that freedom might have to be taken...by force...such as, by killing bludgies. Of course, I only have ever advocated merely talking about and thinking about such propositions. Another way of putting it is Ben Stone's "Sedition, Subversion, and Sabotage."

As I said, anarchism is a radical philosophy and position to hold. And, Cody and I briefly discussed this before the episode, which is why I think he name-dropped peaceful parenting in such a way -- "It doesn't have to end with peaceful parenting." Hopefully that clarifies my position some.

Sort:  

Ah. Dude. I get you now. Yes. I guess some people perhaps do act like resisting violence doesn’t extend to real risk and disobeying/doing battle with state agents if necessary in self-defense.

I read most of Ben’s book. Some parts seemed to border on indiscriminate for me, at the time, but of course I highly respect Ben. I need to revisit. That’s probably a whole other conversation for another time, though.

Anyway, thanks for taking the time out to explain here.