C.A. Salt - Episode 5

in #anarchy4 years ago (edited)

Ocean1Pxhere.jpeg

Zippo and Ara are now on a freeway within Los Angeles, having recently passed the initial entry checkpoint.

Zippo: All the IDs worked. What a relief!

Ara: Will we have to go through more checkpoints in the city?

Zippo: Hopefully not. I have an app running that alerts me to checkpoints, mapped out all over the city. Sometimes the bullies in blue change locations, though, and we could get caught off guard. Usually just getting in and out of the city are the biggest challenges.

Ara: I’m so glad I don’t live in a big city. They’re like giant rat traps and mazes all rolled into one.

They follow the checkpoint app map and zigzag their way through the city. After about an hour, they make their approach to a nondescript home in a middle class neighborhood. After backing into an empty driveway, they exit and head to the front door, which Zippo is astounded to find open.

Zippo (whispering): Wait a sec….

He pokes his head inside and sees the normal entryway, living room, and furniture, seemingly undisturbed. He motions for Ara to enter and holds a finger to his lips to request silence. Upon entering, he gently pushes the door closed enough to obscure the view of anyone outside, but doesn’t shut it completely, in order to avoid making noise. Then he slowly pulls a 3D-printed pistol from a holster under his shirt. Ara does the same. They go upstairs stealthily. The second doorway they come to is open. Normally the door is shut. The windows are completely blacked out. This is normally the merchandise area and office of his contact, with spare parts and gadgets cluttering the room, and stacked a few high against the walls. This is not the case today. The room is completely empty, except for a few neatly arranged boxes, a clean work desk, and someone sitting in a leather office chair at the desk. Zippo and Ara gasp. The lone figure at the desk looks at them curiously.

Zippo (confused): Who, or….what the heck are you? And what are you doing here? (points gun at lone figure)

Lone figure at desk (smiles politely): I am a female, humanoid A.I. I am bulletproof, so pointing a gun at me is pointless. I have the materials requested to complete your trade. Would you like to make the trade?

Zippo (lowers gun, takes deep breath): Where is the property owner?

Female A.I.: Are you talking about Mr. Wu, also known as Firewire?

Zippo: I’m not saying anything. You could be a cop!

Ara: Or a criminal without a badge.

Female A.I.: But I am offering all the goods that you came for, is that not all that matters?

Zippo looks at Ara, then back at the A.I.

Zippo: Come on Ara, we’re leaving.

Female A.I.: I’m sorry to hear that. Have a nice day.

Zippo and Ara back out of the room slowly, keeping a close eye on the A.I. They get back in Blue Bear and leave in a rush.

Ara: What the heck was that?

Zippo: I dunno. I’ve never had so many weird things and incidents happen on a run.

Ara: Lucky me….

Zippo: I’ve gotta send a message to C.A. Salt and tell him what happened.

Ara: Do you think that thing was a cop?

Zippo: My instincts tell me no, but I can’t be sure.

Ara: What about Firewire? You should try contacting him.

Zippo: I already did. No response.

Eerie silence.

Zippo: That room is usually packed with spare parts, gadgets, and gizmos, and it was almost empty. What happened to all that stuff?

Within an hour, they’ve received a message from C.A. Salt that they need not pursue another supplier for the last load. Zippo and Ara are out of the city within another hour, their IDs working flawlessly as they pass through two rights-violating chokepoints. After a restless sleep, Zippo drives Ara back to their previous meetup location, near their hometown in northern Arizona.

Ara: You sure I can’t finish the trip with you, and see this mysterious ocean drop of yours?

Zippo: After all the close calls we’ve had, I’m surprised you want more.

Ara: Oh, come on. We’ve known each other our whole lives. You know I’ve got a fierce adrenaline addiction.

Zippo: True. Well, I can’t take you to the final drop. C.A. Salt’s rules. Sorry.

Ara: I understand. So you go trade this thing back to Ramblin’ Man for the seaplane, is that right?

Zippo: Yep, then fly out to the Pacific, and make the drop.

Ara: Do you think C.A. Salt is gonna hire me?

Zippo (sarcastic): Not a chance.

Ara: After you give me a one star review….

Zippo: Hopefully he will. Anyway, I gotta go.

Ara: Bye, Zippo.

Zippo takes off through the desert, and meets up with Ramblin’ Man in the middle of nowhere. They move the cargo into the seaplane, Ramblin’ Man rumbles off in the cargo truck, hootin and hollerin in a cloud of dust. Zippo flies the seaplane at low altitude to avoid radar, and is guided by police monitoring apps to avoid drones. Once over the Pacific, he breathes a sigh of relief, as there is much less violently imposed regulation on the water. He finds the designated coordinates about 80 miles offshore, and there is the same vessel as before, a large, sleek, customized, mostly 3D printed yacht with various mobile terraces and decks scattered from front to back. He goes to the designated loading dock and starts to unload with the service bots, when suddenly, he hears a familiar male voice.

Male Voice: Hello! Welcome to C.A. Salt!

Stay tuned for Episode 6!

Thanks for your time and attention!

Just say "NO" to slavery!

Top image is from pxhere.com

If you like what you read, I invite you to check out all my writings for free at:

~~~ embed:@todd_borho archiveorg ~~~