Ask an Anesthesiologist. Are you having surgery and have questions? Or, maybe you have questions about a career in Anesthesiology? I will try to answer them for you

in #anesthesia7 years ago (edited)

Anesthesiology is a wonderful specialty of medicine. I thoroughly enjoy what I do. I take great pride in relieving the anxiety that a patient may have before surgery. Nothing makes me happier than when the first thing they say after surgery is, "it's over, really, you did the surgery?"

I love the people I work with also. In general, people working in the healthcare community are among the most intelligent, kindest, most honorable, most diligent, and most empathic people you will find. I enjoy that all day long I am working alongside these individuals. It makes work go by very quickly and enjoyably. Many of them are downright hilarious too.

Sort:  

Loving the people you are working with is really a necessary thing, @dantethegreat! Thank you for sharing this great post, I enjoyed reading it.
I have just started following you ;)

Lazariko12, it absolutely is important. I have a great day every day largely because I enjoy the people around me so much.

I've had a few nasty surgeries in my time, and known friends and family members who've gone under, and it's funny you always remember the anetheseoligist most. Amazing how a quiet little "you got this" and a countdown melt stress away.

I am sorry that you have had a few difficult surgeries. I absolutely take pride in making the experience for my patients much, much easier than they expected so that if the future they may feel more comfortable in anticipation of the next surgery they may need.

The only thing worse then adult circumcision is adult circumcision revision... My anesthesiologist was pretty cool about the ordeal. Another friend of mine just went through a quadruple bypass surgery, he was scared going in, but right before he went out. The anesthesiologist liked him dead in the eye and said "You got this." He feels it changed his view and gave him hope, as he continues to recover he has adopted that mantra. I know there is a lot of work that goes on behind the scenes, Do you have to stay and watch the whole surgery?

That's a tough thing to go through once, but TWICE! Ouch!

When patients are nervous, it's often a balance between coddling and reassurance. I enjoy that part of the job, using my ability to read people to see what I believe they need and adapting to that.

I work in an area where we do not use nurse anesthatists. So, I do stay for the entire duration of each surgery. But, that's really what makes it great. I enjoy the art of surgery and anesthesia and the physiology involved. I never wanted to work in an area where I would have someone else's life as my responsibility, but being managed by someone who was less qualified than myself to manage the many challenging situations that inevitably arrive.