Veggie Loving, Constantly Squeaking, Poop Machines - My Happy Cavies!

in #animal6 years ago

Hamsters, nope, Gerbles, nope, Guinea Pigs, yes they are!

Some people believe they are hamsters and others thinks they are giant gerbils, which I don't really understand as they are much larger than both of these animals. I would like to introduce you to my adorable little piggies. Meet my cavies... more commonly known as guinea pigs.

My family has always had guinea pigs and rabbits and even skinny pigs (which are hairless guinea pigs) since I was very young. I have grown very fond of these unique pets and have taken on the responsibility of caring for our two current piggles as I hope to become a veterinarian. I am in charge of feeding them, cleaning their cage, clipping their nails and watching for health changes.


Above is one of our old skinny pigs, Romeo!

Apart from what the name implies, guinea pigs are not from the pig family, nor do they come from Guinea in Africa. Guinea pigs are members of the Caviidae family, a group of rodents from South America. There are over 13 breeds of Guinea pigs and they thrive best in groups or pairs.

This is Cali!

And this is Nova!

They are both American short hair, with skinny pig genes, and almost 6 years old! Their days consist of laying around and eating almost any veggies they are given. They are very spoiled and because of that, they are a bit chunky. These two are sisters, born on July 15th, 2012, and also had a brother, Padfoot, who received a new home a few months after being born.

And lets not forget mamma Ushi!

Guinea pigs are very different from rabbits, hamsters and gerbils, so if you plan on introducing one to your family, please do your research before hand. With proper food, grooming and care they can live a long, happy life and will make you smile whenever you see them!

Thanks for reading and I hope you had a happy Friday! :D

Sort:  

These piggies have to be the cutest ones I have ever seen!!! They look like they are very well taken care of. Love that you use fleece instead of shavings!!! 👍 Awesome post @simply.syd

Thank you! And like I said, they are truly spoiled! :D

I am a lover of animals in my country, are called Indian rabbits, curies, are beautiful, following you.

Thank you for the follow! That's very neat that they are called Indian rabbits, I figured they were always called guinea pigs! Thanks for sharing! :)

is a cut ... I invite you to go through my blog .. greetings

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:40:38
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank