Innovative Handmade Resin Pins Process

in #animalartlast year


Introducing my handmade resin pins. . . Last year I developed my own process for making an enamel pin alternative as I want to be able to turn my art into pins/brooches but the cost of having enamel pins made was too high. In this post I want to share some of my process and introduce my first range of pins: [br]

Pinimals
[br]

Failed Pin Making Attempts

My first look into making pins was to create polymer clay moulds and then pull polymer clay pins from these. It worked but the resultant ‘pins’ were more brooches and heavy for that. Back to the drawing board and I next tried using outliner dimensional paint on silk and then filling these with resin. It also worked to an extent but I could not get consistent shapes and the process was too time consuming. Next I tried embossing aluminium sheet and filling the depressions on the opposite side with resin. I did the embossing with my Cricut maker and this produced consistent results but was too laborious and fiddly.[br][br]

Handmade Resin Pins Success At Last

I followed a course on making resin jewellery on Domestika and it occured to me that