Hayup ka! (You're an animal!) Writing Contest

Saturday morning I wake up in my pajamas and still yawning open the TV for a dose of Saturday Morning cartoons. One of my favorites was BraveStarr.

image.png

A sci-fi western show revolving around a Native American Marshall named BraveStarr who was assigned to a desert planet called New Texas. His principal antagonist is the being called Stampede and his subordinate Tex Hex.

He is a protector and champion of the law. He often tries to negotiate a peaceful way of resolving issues but when needed he is able to call on the powers of his four spirit animals.

image.png

I can be heard downstairs shouting the following with the corresponding echo!

* Strength of the Bear - Gives BraveStarr superhuman strength in being able to lift heavy objects

* Eyes of the Hawk - Gives BraveStarr an aerial view of the surrounding area as well as enhancing his own vision

Ears of the Wolf - Enhances his hearing

Speed of the Puma - Enhances BraveStarr's speed and reflexes


This show was just awesome for me as a kid and I ended up reading a lot about Native American traditions, Spirit Animals, and Shamanism. I learned about their history and a lot of the myths and folklore they had.

So on to the contest!!! The concept is if you were to be an animal or animals if you choose to, what would it be and what attributes would you like to have?

Does it need to be in a serious tone? Not if you choose the humorous route. The guest judge might kill you but I won't haha.

Rules, rules, and more rules:

  • Your piece must be original
  • The tag ANIMALMAV must be used. It doesn't need to be the first one
  • Minimum 300 words
  • You can use whatever title you want as I will only look at the tag for all entries
  • No need to upvote or resteem unless you want to
  • First prize is 3 SBD Second Prize is 2 SBD and 3rd is 1 SBD
  • Entries will be accepted until February 28, 2018 12:00 AM Manila Time
  • Entries must be written in English as the wonderful @eaglespirit has agreed to be a guest judge

I am excited to get to know more people and engage with the community. I also highly recommend engaging with others that join the contest. Who knows you might gain a new follower.


What Animal is Mav?

image.png

Source

I have always identified as a wolf. A lone wolf at the start because I have always been an introvert by nature but the jobs I had needed me to become the opposite. So I take the aspect of the Alpha wolf when needed.

I have always liked my freedom from being shackled and placed with limits. I like being free with doing what I am passionate about.

In Steemit it has manifested in me being a pack animal where I thrive not in competition but in cooperation. Of moving as one with the community, with Ohana.

Just like a wolf I am terribly protective of those that I consider my pack and will not hesitate to bare my fangs and bite to those that do us wrong.

I am friendly and compassionate to those that I feel a belonging to. If you are in my wolfpack you are sure that I will have your back.

So what animal are you?

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers

Centurion Mave.png

Sort:  

Hey there @maverickinvictus:

Even though I am assisting in your lovely contest, here is my entry to help support your initiative. Upvoted/Resteemed:

https://steemit.com/animalmav/@eaglespirit/official-entry-to-animal-contest-eagle

Woohoo love it ES! I have often wondered about your handle here in Steemit and this beautiful captured it.

Hey Mave! Yeah handle is NA 😛
Thank you so much dear friend and pack brother !!

I love shamanism and Saturday morning cartoons :P my favorite way, back when I was a wee kid (I am almost 40) lol ... was Thundercats. Years later when I studied shamanism, I discovered my animal avatar is the Lion with the Cobra as my ally. Cool contest @maverickinvictus ... I'm in!

Yey looking forward to your entry!!

I love the Thundercats as well and had a Sword of Omens toy!

I had the dolls way back when lol ... the Omens sword was way cool! I wonder if they will ever make a Thundercats movie. I am looking forward to your feedback when I submit it, working on it today (^_^)

@moneyinfant has added your contest to the list Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #27. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest List I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

Thanks MI! You are going to see my name in your list each week as I promote Engagement.

That's awesome! I'm all for engagement.

Yay @maverickinvictus this is great! Good job on the wolf ... and explaining you in the process. Love the writing and the image ... the pentagram thing is a little scary but okay. LOL
I can tell you real Native American stories and about the wolf ... Twilight stuff. :p

Thanks ES and I read your piece and I love it. We need more pieces that share our culture. We have so many unique individuals here and by injecting their culture you see them in a different light.
Celebrate our uniqueness.
P.s.yeah the pentagram was a bit off as well

Yey Thanks for joining!

thanks for the contest

Very nice contest! I am interested to join. I hope i can make before the deadline. Busy mom here... Thank you for making this contest. I hope there is still more to come after this. 😊

Yeah please join I do writing contests each week. So look out for more!

I am.. A minnow! (hehehe Korni!). Love the Bravestarr reference! Eyes of the hawk! Cacaw! Goodluck to the contestants!

wala ka pa sa minnow hahahhaha

Ay oo nga pala. I am a plankton. I am fishfood! Hahahaha!

Pareho tayo makakain ng mga balyena at isda!

hmmm. Mabubulunan sila sayo chief. Sakin matitinga lang.

na LSS ako bigla sa themesong nya haha

Lol I was listening to it while writing it.

Waaaaaaaaaaa! Im excited! Haha
I like the theme/concept of your contest ha. I will definitely join!!! 😁😁😁😁

Of course I want unique contests!!

Will definitely join this one! hehe Nice concept. :)

Let's go! I'm excited to see your entry.


Your contest was added to Steemit Contest Compilation (19.02-25.02): Win free SBD and STEEM
Thank you @maverickinvictus for giving Steemians a chance to win some SBD.

Thanks Artz! It would be great to have more entries!

Yehey! Yet another great contest. 👏

Thank I hope that you will join again.

Hayup Ka talaga?? haha.. Nice theme of contest. Iba ka talaga boss Mav :)

Hahhaha i am to be unique!

That seems to be a really cool show, I would absolutely loved watching it as a kid! I'm sad for having never seen it :( it probably never aired here in Argentina. Thanks for sharing!

You can check it in YouTube I was listening to it as I was writing this post haha

Joining @maverickinvictus hahahahaha
Nice contest title xD

Lol indeed it was a fun play in the title

OK, I hope you were only kidding about the judge and humor... lol! Upvoted and resteemed. Thanks for this fun contest, and here is my entry!
https://steemit.com/animalmav/@fishyculture/my-animal-guide

I just read your piece now and love it! The humor and all!

Thank you for joining my contest!

Thanks for having it! It is fun to see "old ways" coming back to life through the sharing on one of the most advanced technologies we have. When I joined steemit one of the first big shocks to me was the HUGE homesteading community. It is a good thing, a very good thing!

good post maybe I'll join this contest :D

i think it will be nice games.

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @appreciator thanks to: @maverickinvictus.

Yehey! Yet another great contest. 👏

My contribution towards your stunning competition!
https://steemit.com/animalmav/@breezin/a-black-and-white-life-for-me-please

One Love

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by maverickinvictus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.