Some Beautiful Birds from Costa Rica

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

Costa Rica contains over 900 different bird species of which around 600 are resident. I saw many different birds there, but seeing them and getting a photograph of them are two different things. I was lucky enough to get some good ones, but getting a picture of the many different Hummingbirds (at least a decent one) proved impossible. My favourite one is of a Toucan that can be seen below.

1.1417471238.toucan.jpg

The next one I found was an Ibis which I found as I was doing an Otter survey along a local river.

1.1418860800.ibis.jpg

The next bird was a Scarlet Macaw. These birds are quite common in Costa Rica and are often seen flying in groups which is quite a spectacle. They have long tail feathers which makes them look very elegant in flight.

1.1418922196.scarlet-macaw.jpg

This is a Turkey Vulture which is quite a rare bird and the only one I saw in my 3 months in Costa Rica.

1.1419033600.turkey-vulture.jpg

This bird is a Hawk and was found in Corcovado National Park.

1.1417345433.hawk.jpg

This is the Cherrie's Tanager and I found this one as I walking in the local town of Puerto Jimenez.

1.1420395285.cherrie-s-tanager.jpg

The final bird which I also found in Puerto Jimenez I was unable to identify. Maybe one of you clever Steemians will be able to identify it for me.

1.1419615571.bird.jpg

All the pictures were taken with a Canon Powershot SX120 IS

This is my entry for #animalphotography contest hosted by @photocontests

Hope you enjoy the pictures and feel free to comment.

Sort:  

Some great shots, there @gingerjack. Particularly like the toucan and ibis pics. Was hoping to see a resplendent quetzal for it's name if no other reason, though! Aren't they Costa Rica's national bird?

:)

Thanks zool237. Apparently the National bird of Costa Rica is the Clay-colored thrush also known as the Yigüirro. Can’t say I’ve heard of it, nor did I see it when I was there. Here’s a picture of it

E0DF0E52-143C-4AA0-A25A-B9C972DD8D06.jpeg

Beautiful shots! is hard to take good photos to the birds!

Thanks itachi24j. It is