A Robin In Our Cherry Tree This Morning

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

A sure sign of spring even though the weather report today includes talk of a "wind chill."

The wind is just howling out there today, but the sun is bright and the cherry blossoms are getting close to their peak.

DSC_8382.jpg

This lovely Robin perched in our Cherry tree for a while this morning and I had time to grab the long lens and take a shot! The branches and the blossoms were blowing around a lot so I used a fast shutter speed to freeze the action. I know it looks calm here but it really isn't! You can click on the photo for a closer view. This is my second photo for the #animalphotography contest by @juliank. Thanks for taking a look!

Nikon D750, 600mm, 1/2000 second, f/6.3, ISO 400

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 23:50:17
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1062.55/1600.00
Total Photos: 61
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 14
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Keith this is spectacular as usual!

Thanks very much Renee!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Beautiful just beautiful!
What a lovely photo @keithboone!
Waiting to see first Robin up here soon :-)

Won't be long! Thanks a lot, I'm glad you like this :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 03:19:33
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1068.05/1600.00
Total Photos: 62
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 14
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I haven't spied one yet, but I sure hear them singing pre dawn.!!

I love your blossom tree and I can tell the birds do as well. Beautiful soft background.

Thank you! The hummingbird nest is in this tree and it's comical to watch them drive away the larger birds... like this robin. There was a hummingbird diving in and out of the field of view here, but I didn't get a shot.

They remind me of small dogs.....who think they are big and usually attack big dogs....hehe....animal behavior is great.

The little birds attack the big ones, it's amazing to see! I'm just looking at pics from today, including a seagull which was attacking a bald eagle!

I'm envious in Ottawa!

If you're in Ottawa, you would be.... I'm kidding, I love Ottawa :) Still have a little winter left do you?

Yes, our Tulip Festival is in the first week of May. Most of the snow is gone but we were getting a few snowflakes today.

Spectacular shot! The epitome of springtime!

Thank you, Melinda! This is the first time I caught one in a cherry tree! I sit in a chair on the patio with a coffee and wait for the birds. It's better than working... :)

Hello little birdie :) They're both beautiful!

Thank you, Erika! This one looks happy I think! :)

Always top notch shots ! Glad you ended up here on Steemit and that you have acclimated well.

Thank you, Steve, I do like Steemit a lot!

Just beautiful. It's a wonderful picture composition. With the flowers in the background and the bird in all its beauty. Great!

Thanks so much for such a nice comment!