You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Up Close & Personal with a Giant Hammerhead Shark!

Right place, right time. What an awesome capture. That shark did not flinch one bit, haha. Reminds me of when I was snorkeling in Maui and up came a 7-8 feet gentle green turtle. My encounter was not nearly as scary as yours, but it was really cool swimming next to it for quite some time.

Sort:  

I guess those guys are a bit more chill than others. I jumped in the water years ago to swim after a loggerhead that was about 30 yards away while we were anchored fishing to get some underwater video. When I got within maybe 5 yards it started aggressively swimming towards me and snapping it's beak at me...had to do some emergency backstokes!

That’s is insane, haha. You can’t pay me enough money to get in the water with a shark.

They are curious creatures and usually harmless, I had to tap a few aggressive bull sharks on the nose with my pole tip tho while wade fishing during Summer last year but usually they're not a worry as long as you're not bleeding or have tie line full of fish you caught attached to you

Ah ok. But I still wouldn’t get in the water with these sharks even knowing that they are usually harmless creatures, haha. I’ll let you have all the fun and read or watch about it.

I'll pet one for you next time I'm out wading, their sensory organs are all in their head to detect prey through vibrations in the water. If you scratch their chin they're like a dog getting their ears scratched...if you do it right they actually will roll over and play dead