Incredible Animal Photography from Safari in Africa

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

I really wanted to share some awesome animal photos from our safaris in Africa. I literally have hundreds and hundreds of every animal known to man from the 10 days of safaris we did in Africa. I can't even explain how exciting seeing these animals in the wild really is. This trip was my wife's bucket list choice so I was happy to go, but I wasn't near as excited as she was. I just kept thinking that I can see all these animals in a zoo if I want. I have to tell you, there is no comparison. Every animal we saw was like finding treasure on a hunt.

DSC01557_result.JPG

The lion pictured had just killed a Wildebeest and was just crunching down on it. The sound of the bones cracking as its jaws bit into the Wildebeest just about made my wife sick. It was gory, but it was such a treat to get to witness.

DSC02483_result.JPG

This monkey just walked up and sat on a rock and stared at us for the longest time. He was really studying us hard. I have another picture of him that's NSFW :) He was very happy to see us :)

DSC01860_result.JPG

My wife (@qberryfarms) wanted to see an elephant in the wild so bad she couldn't stand it. We saw one of the first day and she nearly lost it. Then, as the days wen't on, we would see dozens and dozens of them together. It never got old. They are incredible. We did have one wild moment when one seemed to be chasing our Land Cruiser, but he gave up quickly.

DSC01669_result.JPG

This female lion is stalking a gazelle in the distance. Can you see it in the tall grass? He never did run after him. We learned that lions have to spend so much energy to get a prey that they will not even try unless they are nearly certain they can catch it. The gazelles and other prey know exactly how close they can get without the lion coming after them.

DSC02579_result.JPG

Hope you enjoyed this safari trip to Africa with us. I'm saving many more for later :)

Sort:  

Upvoted! great pictures, really well done and it looks like a great trip, hope i can do a Safari one day as well. Thanks for sharing

Thank you very much, it was a life changing trip for sure.

Holy NatGeo in my face, @qberry! These photos are jaw-dropping!! I can't imagine the adrenaline dumps you guys had while getting to experience these moments.

And man, you hit it right on the head. I am pretty sure the top of my wife's bucket list is to see an elephant in the wild. I think she's up to 5 shirts with those glorious creatures on them - she's obsessed!

But seriously, good for you folks and thanks a ton for sharing! I have no doubt I will be looking up the African safaris on Expedia later tonight after sharing this with my wife. Great post!!!

Thanks! I appreciate it. Yeah man, my wife's favorite animal in the world is an elephant. What is it with women and elephants? I guess I should consider myself lucky she doesn't have a bunch of elephant shirts :) If you go safari, go right at the beginning of the wet season in Africa. That's when all the huge herds get together and you can see them better since the grasses are still dead and dry from the dry season.

Lol, ain't that the truth @qberry! They can't get enough of those big gray beauties!

And thanks a ton for the tip, we certainly will want to make the most of a trip over there, so the beginning of the wet season it is!! Thanks again!

I really enjoyed the animals photos. Thanks for sharing. You all have a great weekend.

Back atcha bud. We're supposed to get a foot of snow tomorrow so may be a fun weekend. Thanks!

They are indeed fabulous shots I regret I only did a one day safari in all my time In Africa

Oh man, at first I was sure it was going to be too long, but this was a different place with different animals every day. I didn't expect to love it as much as my wife did. Thanks

The see all the animals is pretty amazing isn’t it

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 85 (3/26/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

I agree with you it something completely better watching animal in their wildlife . I experienced monkey but never a lion having his "meal" :) :)

Thank you, really glad you enjoyed!

Wow!!! That lion picture is out of this world! Man, I got to see Elephants in Thailand last month and honestly, it seriously is NOT the same as a zoo. I can only imagine a safari because that's like the excitement of elephants only x 100! Good thing your wife had this on her bucket list!

Isn't it cool when you end up enjoying something WAY more than you originally expected?

Also, where is your bottom pic from? It kind of looks like Ometepe in Nicaragua but it also kind of looks like Asia lol.

Thanks much for the response. Man, I keep hearing about Thailand every day. It's been on my list for 2 years and I think this fall is the time we are finally going! I've seen many of your posts on it.
This is the second trip my wife chose and I ended up loving much more than expected. A 10 day expedition through was incredible too.
That pick is Ometepe, but honestly it's from Pixby and edited quite a bit. We did go there and loved all of Nicaragua.

Excellent photos! I have always wanted to do an African Safari. Was this in Tanzania?

Thank you. Yes, this was in Tanzania. The Serengeti is a really beautiful place and just massive. Ngorongoro Crater is also amazing.

Wow! Such amazing photos that really compliment your text well!

The segment about the monkey on the rock is hilarious. He must of liked the way you looked mate ;)

I also really like the picture of the lion stalking the gazelle. That's a picture fit for a frame I think! Great work and very nice to hear about your trip to Africa, you two must of loved it.

We did love it indeed. I have so many photos and videos to create posts out of two.
Thanks much for your thoughtful comments.
One of these days I'll send you that monkey oic when you least expect it 😋

Haha you had a picture NSFW, that's funny. Monkeys ay! ;) lol

Thanks for sharing. Beautiful pictures :) Must of been incredible to see all these animals in the wild. I've never done a safari but it's on my to do list for sure!

Thank you very much. I can't imagine anyone would not enjoy it! I have so many more pics and videos to post in the future.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 22:01:00
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 141.61/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @qberry! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!