Guess who's back...

in #animals5 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!

It’s been such a long time, 8 months in fact, since I was last here. I haven’t forgotten any of you, my amazing followers, and most I have managed to keep in contact with on Discord. It’s been quite a journey but I will bring back my Amazing Animals and Endangered Species series with the hope of educating you in the world of animal conservation, something that holds very dear to my heart.

I have now finished my Zoological degree which is such a huge relief and one of the main reasons behind my break (as well as other things) to devote all my spare time into my dissertation. I am so proud to say that I got a first on this and also quite a significant amount of recognition in the zoo community. I am in the midst of sharing this information with other zoological institutions to improve their care and husbandry of Rainbow Lorikeet birds.

For those who know me well they also know Basil well too and he is doing okay. Sadly we lost his brother and closest companion recently but thankfully he is coping well (we have 18 in the herd so he still has company). It just means that he has become increasingly clingy to me, more so than I would like. He will be okay, he just needs to find his feet again. Animals grieve just like we do, it’s all a healing process and he has as much scratches and cuddles as he wants from me. Luckily this loss has not impacted his training and it is still going well, he now opens his mouth on command and I’m hoping to bring some other behaviours such as more direct foot presentations.

I am now back horse riding after a 2-and-a-half-year break. Back in July of this year I had another accident at work where I fell off a tractor (none of our injuries are done by animals really) so it set back my recovery from my back injury quite some time. Though I have been back in the saddle for about 4 weeks now and its so thrilling, exciting and above all- normal.

The bunnies are doing well. We originally only had Harvey and Herbie but we then found a lovely little grey female in an adoption centre and called her Heather. She bonded with the boys really well and easily. A few months later someone was sadly trying to get rid of their bunny and we took pity on her, her name was Diamond, but we changed it to Hazel. Unfortunately she didn’t bond well, and we ended up with a trio and a single bunny, thus introducing Hector. Hector lived on a balcony in the city of London his whole life, alone and never met another bunny just like Hazel.

They were the ideal match and now live quite happily, it’s actually quite cute to watch as neither of them possess any bunny social skills. Rabbits are truly nasty creatures to one another, so bonding is really tough on both the owner and on the rabbits themselves. Now we have two groups they are all doing well so we are happy to leave them as they are.



The reindeer are back at the Zoo and Ronnie is looking incredibly fabulous, the antlers have grown back so well and only took 4 months in total to get to the size they are at!

I look forward to reigniting my animal series and bringing you some of the worlds most amazing creatures in great detail!

Catch you soon!


signature.png

Sort:  

Welcome back!

Thank you!!

signature.png

Wooooow, Welcome back!!!

Thank you!!

signature.png

How come I didn’t know about Hazel? 😳 Well, still ... I am pleased to hear that after all she went through, she now has her perfect match beside her! Basil is a strong, resilient boy! Soon he will be fully recovered from his (sad) loss. All that training is a very good way to help him heal :) Great news about you being horse-riding again! And, by the way, that is a beautiful photo! That is not Bruce is it?

Next ... photos of Ronnie and an update on Tarli!! Pleeeasee 😊😌

Ps: Congratulations once again on your successful degree results!

Oh Abi! Ronnie is the first photo, isn’t he looking amazing this year? I swear I told you about Hazel....! Oops! I’ll have to fill you in it’s been a nightmare of a ride bonding everyone! Yes it’s Bruce, he’s one of the horses at the zoo and is retired from riding. It’s one of my favourite photos actually for once when someone says smile I don’t look like I have about 12 chins and put on about 20 stone haha...I’ve yet to get any photos of me riding but I’ll try!

signature.png

Welcome back, @amavi! I'm looking forward to reading your amazing and endangered animals series again. And congrats with completing your degree!

Thank you so much! I can’t wait to bring them back for you all.

signature.png

Ohhh after almost 9 months you're back! How good to have you here :)





This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail in collaboration with @curie.

If you appreciate the work we are doing then consider voting both projects for witness by selecting stem.witness and curie!

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Yay great to see you back :) More yay for finishing the degree :D Sorry to hear about Basil losing his brother :< glad to hear he's doing as well as one could expect under the circumstances.

And you appear to have added to your pet collection XD

It’s so good to see your still around! Yeah he’s doing ok, it’s been hard on him as he doesn’t have many friends in the herd so his rank has dropped a little. Though this last month I have definitely seen an improvement!

I know lol, so many animals now... no more though!

signature.png

Congratulation on your achievement. I'll be waiting for your articles. Glad to have you back.

Welcome back Amavi.
Sure I do know basil. Sorry about the loss of his brother.. poor goat 😢

Thanks, yeah it’s such a shame but he’s much better nowadays :)

signature.png

Welcome back Amavi, its really been long. Looking forward to your amazing articles

Welcome back, Amavi

You write great posts! Are you still around on steem? I'm planning to launch an app / game featuring endangered species...

Congratulations @amavi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!