Why Do You Never See Baby Pigeons? (My own photos)

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians

I remember the other day surfing on my facebook news feed until i came across an interesting article Why Do You Never See Baby Pigeons? on I fucking love science facebook page wich is i had that question several years ago! until this year my brother is raising Pigeons here on the house told me exactly the same as the article mentioned based on his experience!

My brother told me that baby pigeons wont leave the nest until they grow some feathers and are able to fly and that can take sometimes a full month!

Here's what a 2 days after hatching baby pigeon will look like
IMG_1481.JPG

IMG_1478m.jpg

You can see clearly that he's almost naked and he have a yellow small feathers, he'll open his eyes on the 5th day after hatching.

Here's an 2 Weeks baby Pigeon from another nest
IMG_1483m.jpg

He still needs to grow some more feathers maybe a 1 week or more so he will be able to fly.

Although im not into raising pigeons and birds in general because it's hard, plus their poop smells horrible and cause some diseases! but watching them grow up on their nests and how they develop their feathers and eventually start flying high in the sky is amazing.


All photos are taken by me using a Canon 40D
Thanks for reading, i hope you like my article and have a good day

Sort:  

I guess you never (rarely) see pictures of them is because they are quite ugly :D

Oh yes they are! and smelly too when you get near the nests but when they grow up they become adorable.