Urban Homesteading and Cockerels...

in #animals6 years ago

'Urban Homesteading' and 'Cockerels' are not often words heard together. Why? Because townies can put up with fighting cats, barking dogs and the explosive roar of a motorbike, but the slightest suggestion at a Cock-a-doodle-do sends people into a tizz. It's sad really, because roosters are beautiful birds and should be embraced. Here, in the UK, there are no laws against having roosters but if the local council becomes involved because of a complaint, they scare many people into submission by using environmental health (noise pollution) laws.

I've been lucky enough not to have run into problems, but I live with the ever-present concern that someday a complaint will come. Hopefully, if I can hang on two more years, my roosters will have the freedom of the farm and I won't have to worry about it ever again.

Four Steps For Harmony



The Meet and Greet

Britain is a nation of animal lovers and there's something to be said for introducing your cockerels to your neighbours. When he crows, it's not just some random animal; it's Brewster the cockerel (below). Showing him off and explaining that should the worst happen, he'd have to be culled, can help bring a few neighbours onto your side.

068.jpg

The Bribe

What do you have? Chickens. What do you have an excess of? Eggs. And use them for bribery...seriously. A few boxes of eggs here and there creates a talking point and, like the Meet and Greet, helps to subdue potentially complaining neighbours. I sell my neighbours eggs at £1.50 per dozen. BUT, when I started out, I was giving them away for free as a way to approach the chicken conversation and explain that I wasn't trying to make their life hell, I just loved chickens.

093.JPG

The Blackout Box

I use this method with all my cockerels. Much like throwing a blanket over the parrot cage to keep him quiet, it involves bringing your cockerels in from their coop each night and popping them into a crate, carrier or box and shutting them away somewhere dark and quiet. Some of mine go into a poultry crate together, others go into individual cat boxes.

It's not foolproof, and you do still get a few crows now and then, but with a blanket over them AND locked in a shed or outhouse, the noise is muffled. Keep them quiet in unsociable hours and not only can you keep people on-side but if there is a complaint, you can clearly demonstrate you're already taking action.

I made a video up of my routine and you can see it below:

Anti-Crow Collars

There's a lot of debate about anti-crow collars - little pieces of velcro that go around a roosters neck and reduce his crow. They don't stop him crowing - just reduce the noise - and they can be dangerous. I mean, what if you had a choke collar on at all times of day, even when you're eating? In addition, the RSPCA frown upon them because they affect cockerel behaviour.

However...they can be good. Firstly, if it's between culling or collar, then of course you're going to try the collar first. Rehoming cockerels is practically impossible so it's normally a collar or the stew pot. I also find my roosters crow less when they have them on and become less aggressive.

The most important think using these collars is consistent and careful checking to ensure the collar has become tight or snagged. Because I bring my roosters in every night, the two that have collars can be checked over. I also remove their collars at least once a week and monitor their behaviour; if they're good and don't crow, they get more time without the collar on.

Fight For Those Cockerels



I won't lie, sometimes six cockerels having a crowing contest for 20 minutes without stopping can be so frustrating I want to stew-pot them all. But that feeling soon ends when I head outside to try and shut them up and they start dancing to my feet and asking for a few greens. They're fabulous birds, not to mention a complete necessity if you're starting any kind of breeding business.

So if you're in an urban area, try arming yourself with those four options above. Talk to neighbours, reduce complaint potential through blackout boxes and fight to keep your wonderful birds if the worst occurs.

Thanks for reading,
Geoff


THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND REPLYING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Super cute article....I enjoyed your video! Been off for about a week. We definitely never had more than one cockeral as we found out first hand that the even young ones will fight, so I am impressed with you having several for the long term. We just always ate the extras. :/
blessings
melissa

Three live together with their ladies but the other three are in separate coops as pure breeds. Its just the 'crow-offs' that are a nightmare. Any teenage roosters tend to get eaten.

yum...still a good outcome!

I love the bribery angle, and the emotional engagement angle! Never would have considered those before. :)

People put up with more when they actually know Rocky the Rooster. :)

These acts are a lot of rubbish its just to stop anyone being self-sufficient. The councils in our towns are corrupt money robbing and make up anything to support the highest payer!

It great you keep then in urban area and I applaud you for that never give in to those criminals called the council!

I love a cockerels in the morning its quite refreshing!

Sadly it happens a lot. I know someone who had a threatening letter from neighbours (violence) and had to get police involved!!!

I like hearing a cockerel crowing in the morning....to a point.

A sad world we live in sometimes !