You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to De-Skunk a Dog: I’ve Been Doing It All Wrong

in #animals6 years ago

I can confirm that the hydrogen peroxide, baking soda and dish soap (I used Dawn brand) method works. I know from experience...

I came home one night a few years back, a little tipsy after the bar, and took my boxer mix Bash out for a walk. In the darkness he went for something in the bushes but I didn't pay any mind to it, figured it was a neighborhood cat. We hopped into bed (my dog sleeps in the bed with me) and I noticed something was off. We frequently have skunks around our house, with the smell entering through the open windows, so the smell is not all that uncommon. I thought nothing of it and closed the windows.

The next morning I awoke feeling nauseous with a throbbing headache as I looked over at my dog, blissfully asleep. The smell of the skunk had worsened. I quickly recalled the events of the night before. Then it hit me, we'd been skunked! I may have been a little more than tipsy because I didn't put two and two together. I reluctantly leaned over to smell my dog and nearly puked...

I scoured the internet and found a similar recipe for this deskunking solution and applied it liberally on my dog's coat as suggested here and waited a few minutes. It GREATLY reduced the odor and kept me from banishing my poor pup to the outdoors. It's not a miracle worker though as you will still have a slight skunky odor for days or weeks, but it is much more manageable than if you used a different deodorizing method! Now if anyone has a method for getting that smell off of fabrics, I'd gladly upvote!

Here's Bash at full derp. Does Steemit have love for boxers?
bashderp.jpg