You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The spider my friend stays away from.

in #animals7 years ago

isn't all wildlife in Australia spectacularly lethal in one way or another? from spiders, ants, and snakes, to the only poisonous mammal, the platypus, and the only poisonous octopus, the blue ringed, i wouldn't be surprised to find there are trees that can kill people in their sleep.

Sort:  

yeah pretty much everything in this country is trying to kill you lol , and even some plants , but the weird thing is people say this about australia , but to us its normal , just goto know what to and not to touch , like were i grew up there is a snake we call it the fierce snake , basically it bites you , just find somewhere nice and quiet to die , as a kid we use to catch them and chase the girls around with them lol , there the deadliest snake !!

in Florida, where i grew up, there is nothing quite that poisonous, but every poisonous snake on the North American continent lives there. there are alligators too. you're right, you just get used to it. it is strange in other parts of the country, where people are constantly oblivious to their surroundings. in Florida, if there is a big enough puddle that is there long enough, there might be an alligator. being careful is just second nature.

I was born in Florida! I love that place, always amazing things to catch, or run from... depending on what it is and who you are. :P

I also lived in Mississippi and used to catch Highland Water Moccasins, Copper Heads, and all kinds of deadly snakes. When I was 13 I almost got bit by a copperhead when I was attempting to milk it. I used to keep things like this in cages all over my room. My mother always was afraid of going in my room.

Now, I live in Colorado and Spiders are pets to me, as well as Rattlesnakes if I find them. Pretty rare to see them and you aren't allowed to keep them if you catch them because they are protected. The only reason you are allowed to catch them is to relocate them.

To tell the truth, I keep food alive for all my pets, this winter my cricket farm died off due to a power outage, I haven't fed my spiders in 4 weeks because I have nothing to give them. I live on a mountain in Colorado and currently don't have access to a petstore or money to buy things online. I am really worried they will die from starvation before I get the chance to find something. Today was the 11th time I went out into the woods hoping to find a bug, or anything... I am so sad right now, they are not doing so well. :(

They are dear to me, I lost my bullfrog the other day because he got out of his cage and died in the dry air, I cried for like 2 hours. I really get attached to my pets. I also never buy pets at the store, I catch them in the wild (usually ones that are wounded or would die due to circumstance). Like the spiders I caught then in Southern Colorado on my way back from a visit to Texas.

If interested I actually wrote a story about it here: https://steemit.com/writing/@timbo/catching-spider-original-steemit-short-story-based-on-actual-events-pics

I really am getting worried, the harshest part of winter is here and the chance of me finding them food is next to none. I wish for the life of me I knew what to do. Any ideas?

OH snap, I have a steem wallet, with a little balance in it (been powering up everything I get) is there a way to buy more crickets or something else I could start a farm online with Steem???

in your local area, is there an exterminator you could call? anyone who would know where the bugs are. what do they eat? what can they eat? i've heard of people feeding pinkies to spiders. could you set live mouse traps and breed them to use them as food? colorado is tough. do they eat other spiders? i made a dozen anoles sick by feeding them earwigs, i'm not sure spiders could eat them. somebody on youtube has to know how to make bug traps at low or no cost. if pressed, you could leave some crackers, or something else out, and see what shows up. if i think of any better ideas i'll let you know.