5 Facts That'll Have You Reconsider Rawhide for Your Dog

in #animals7 years ago

Before I go any further I would like to say that I am not a veterinarian, nor am I an animal nutritionist. I am speaking from my own personal experience with my dog and why I decided to stop giving her rawhide. I have a German shepherd; she is what you would categorize as a “Heavy chewer.” Prior to doing my research on the topic I, as most people do gave my dog rawhide as a treat once in a while because it does give them something to do (a puzzle of sorts) along with helping remove plaque from their teeth.

Normally my dog had no issue with rawhide but more recently after she has had it she has gotten sick and the rawhide has come right back up in a not so pretty way. After reading up on what I was really giving my dog I learned that rawhide is not as natural as one might think, Read these five reasons why you might want to reconsider giving your dog rawhide.

  • It’s not as natural as you might think.

Rawhide is a by-product of leather; after the cow has been slaughtered the hide is shipped off to a tannery. They are shipped in a chemical bath to prevent spoiling and to preserve the product. Once the hide arrives it is treated with a highly toxic solution to strip any hair or fat that might be attached to the hide, after that process is finished it is once again treated with a chemical that makes it easier to split apart. They good outer layer of the hide is used for commercial things like shoes, and car seats etc. it is the inner layer that is used to make rawhide.

  • It’s essentially bleached skin.

The inner layer of the cowhide is then yet again soaked in a mix of bleach and hydrogen peroxide, for those who don’t know hydrogen peroxide is usually something you can give to your dog to induce vomiting. This also removes the smell of rotten leather
Speaking from experience most recently my dog hasn’t been able to keep rawhide down so I wondered if this was the cause, again I am not a vet I just have had personal experience with this topic.

  • Smoked? More like Painted Brown.

After the rawhide has been bleached until it’s a bright white it is then painted with dyes and food coloring to make it whatever you want it to look like. Yes, folks, the brown ones are not really “smoked.” Isn't shocking it? Not really.

  • But Raw Hide Lasts Forever!

This is why rawhide lasts forever because it is so full of preservatives. There is truly nothing raw about it, it’s an overly processed piece of hiding. Some preservatives that have been found in rawhide are lead, arsenic, and mercury.

  • Has been considered one of the most dangerous chews.

In addition to all the chemicals and preservatives, there have been many cases of dogs having to have surgery for blockages in the esophagus and intestines. Some rawhide products even warn of these dangers on their own product, I personally have had experienced raw hides chipping into sharp pieces that I end up having to take away from my dog. These pieces can easily poke your dog’s tongue, gum, cheek, and even get stuck on the way down.

  • Alternative Options to Raw Hide.

In the long run it is best for me at least to stay away from rawhide products. Antler chews and regular treats are a great option for alternative, filled bones that are solid and clearly not made from rawhide are another great option. You could even try making your own dog treats at home!

Comment below if you have had issues with rawhide, and what kind of treats you like to give your dog.

Sort:  

Interesting story man! How did come so interested?

Thanks! I decided to share this because my dog was getting sick after having raw hide so I thought it would be nice to share in case someone finds this helpful

Ohh okey, I hope your dog is doing fine! I follow you and upvoted :)

Thank you and I followed back!