Great news for all animal lovers: Mexico has banned dolphinariums!

in #animals6 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Today, I will miss out on competing in photo contests because I just learned an awesome news that I want to share with you. Mexico, a country that has been my temporary home until recently, decided to ban dolphinariums (as well as aquariums and shows that imprison sea lions). Owners of these establishments will now have 6 months to relocate their dolphins and sea lions to sanctuaries. The decree also forbids using dolphins as therapy animals.

dolphin-2939189_960_720.jpg
Image source: Pixabay (Creative Commons)

To me, a dedicated nature lover and animal rights advocate, ban on these things is definitely a great decision. Dolphins and other marine mammals are incredibly intelligent and sensitive creatures and there is no way they could ever be happy in concrete chlorinated tanks, forced to perform unnatural tricks for human audience while being deprived of the opportunity to engage in their natural behavior.

Dolphin_Surfing.jpg
Image source: Wikipedia (Creative Commons)

Fortunately, more and more countries around the globe have been realizing that the only place that marine mammals belong in is the sea. Mexico just joined countries such as Costa Rica, Chile, Croatia, Switzerland, Slovenia or Greece that had already banned keeping dolphins and other marine mammals in captivity.

Show-Seaworld-Killer-Whale-Animal-Orca-1263055.jpg
Image source: Max Pixel (Creative Commons)

I can confirm from my own experience that watching dolphins moving and playing freely in their natural environment is incomparably greater and more fun than visiting establishments such as the Sea World where they are kept only for profit and public entertainment.

Wildlife-Water-Ocean-Jumping-Marine-Dolphins-Jump-277331.jpg
Image source: Max Pixel (Creative Commons)

So thank you, Mexico, for being respectful to the Earth´s wildlife. Hopefully, more countries will follow soon.

Sources: The Yucatan Times, PETA.org


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

If the soul is the ability to love, be faithful and grateful, then animals have it more than many people do.

Nicely said :)

This is great news! Dolphins or any other marine mammal do not belong in an aquarium at all, so I'm glad it was banned in another country. Still a lot of countries where they are legal though, so I hope more countries follow the example of Mexico.

Absolutely :) Hopefully, they do. I am also hoping for bans on animal circuses.

Yes, a ban on circus animals would be good. Most of these animals live in terrible conditions..

Pro mě byl úžasný zážitek pozorovat ve volné přírodě tuleně :) No a co ty? Ty už česky nepíšeš :)?

To věřím :) Pro mě je zážitek pozorovat ve volné přírodě jakékoliv zvíře :) Je fakt, že na tu českou verzi už mnohdy nezbývá čas a někdy ani chuť, tak jsem trochu ubral. Ale ten tag se snažím i nadále sledovat ;)

No já na něj teď i do konce zapomněl :) Tuleni byli super... oni se totiž jakoby předváděli, snažili se komunikovat :)

Excellent news!!!

Každý tvor by měl mít svobodu

Tak tak :)

Great news!! :)

Yeah, I knew you would like it ;)

That is great news! I hope animal exploitation stops one day! This planet after all belongs to them as much as it belongs to us, so we must treat them with respect!

Well said Anna :) Actually, I think the planet belongs to them a bit more than to us because they have been here hundreds of millions of years earlier than humans :) But yeah, I just wish people and animals could live in peace and harmony.

I absolutely agree with you!

Yeah! From Lo De Marco, Mexico! Here dolphins visited us while out fishing in the Pacific!!! It is the best way to see them!!!! Dancing happily in the ocean and free!

a1a43419-7702-42f3-a621-b50e399b5768.JPG297a2209-96fc-409a-ac99-c60af242b7de.JPG

Exactly! :) This is best kind of encounter for both sides :) Thanks for sharing the story and photo :)

💙

Dolphins are very sensitive and sweet animals.
It's good that they can be free and experience the life that God prepared for them in a natural habitat @phortun.

Well said Rosibel :)

Amazing news!! I hope all countries will continue to ban it!

That would be awesome :) Hopefully, animal circuses will be also banned one day.

Yes ! I support Whale and Dolphin charities and am so glad that this has happened, its just sad that it ever did in the first place. Circuses too, poor animals.

oh how I love waking up to such news =) That's great! I don't know if we have any dolphinariums in Panama (I don't think so), but we do have boat tours that chase dolphins in the wild so that tourists can snap a pic. Actually I'm going to write a post about this to raise awareness! Thanks for sharing!

Boat tours that chase dolphins? Wow, never heard of that... I thought these boats just arrive to places where dolphins tend to gather, pull over and wait for them to show up... I will wait for that post then ;)

normally that's what they are supposed to do...but they chase them instead

Its great news. I hope Thailand ill follow them soon.

Yes... and not just Thailand but all countries in the world. Sea animals belong in the sea, not in tanks ;)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

You got a 1.39% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @phortun!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!