How a rabbit ended up in the pump house !

in #animals7 years ago

So when Blake and I decided that we were going to leap into homesteading one thing that we discussed is that we didn't want to get any animals until we had adequate fencing, outbuildings, food storage space ect. Well a few months ago that changed very suddenly when Sawyer was at her grandmas and I was receiving texts over the weekend of her
With big black rabbit! IMG_0101.JPG
Soon after Sawyers grandma called me:

Emma's boyfriend dropped off a bunny on our porch last night, he just had it in a plastic tote.
Who would do such a thing, I'm surprised it didn't get out.
when we bring Sawyer back tonight, can you take the bunny? We don't have room for him and don't know anything about rabbits.

ooof so I used to raise rabbits in school for FFA, but I was in no way prepared to have a rabbit sprung on me last minute. So I rushed to to local farm stored, picked up some materials and started building a cage. It took some work to talk Blake into it, but a rabbit doesn't add too much to my chore list and now that Sawyer is 3 I think it's a good time to start her in the line of animal husbandry. She has done a great job, and I couldn't be more proud! IMG_0097.JPG

So then came the real questions like .... where are we going to put the rabbit so that the coyotes don't tear into first chance. Well, the chicken coop wasn't even in planning at that point so the only options were the house, or the pump house.
For pretty obvious reasons we chose the pump house.
Blake got to work building a wooden hutch to keep the cage off the ground and allow a tray to slide under to collect the fertilizer!
IMG_0103.JPG
My watermelon plants have thanked me! When the rabbit arrived his name was Oliver. We quickly changed it to Fergus, because it's hilarious to say!
So now I have some questions for you, the reader :

  1. When did you start your journey with your children into animals?
  2. What's a fun or funky name you have named a pet or livestock?
  3. Would you have said yes to a full grown rabbit, in a very last minute situation?

thank you for following our story and have a beautiful day!
IMG_0099.JPG