Fur farming finally to be banned in Norway! ♥ A victory for the animals. ♥

in #animals6 years ago (edited)

After years of intense fighting between animal rights activists, NOAH (the Norwegian animal welfare association) the Norwegian Fur Breeders Association, and political parties, fur farming is finally to be banned in Norway!

y1mogrbcre.jpg
Demonstration against fur in Oslo, the capital of Norway.

This is such a big victory for animal activists in Scandinavia that have been demonstrating for years. There has been an annual demonstration to ban fur, in front of the Norwegian parliament house, for 15 years. (I have attended six of the years myself.) The last demonstration had 9000 visitors, this year there will be held a celebration parade instead.

The Norwegian government is planning to phase out fur farming until 2025, and all the political parties is backing the choice. That means that no matter what happens during the election, this is as sure as it gets!

Some facts about fur farming in Scandinavia:

  • At one point, Norway's economy was leaning a lot on fur farming. In 1939, Norway was the worlds biggest producer of fox fur. At that point there was more than 20.000 fox fur farms in the Country.

  • The last 20 years fur farms have had a lowering. I read that 4/5 farms have shut down, and in 2017 there were 202 fur farms registered in Norway (keep in mind that there probably still are illegal ones.)

  • In 2017 there was killed about 17 million minks for their fur in Denmark..

What this means for me personally:

I have been passionate about animal welfare since I was 12 years old, and started my journey towards becoming a vegetarian when I was around 13. I have attended around 10 demonstrations/meetings in my youth evolving around animal welfare.

At one point in my youth, I remember taking the tram from school with a friend and putting a used chewing gum in the woman sitting in front of us's fur coat. I do not do childy acts like these today, but that might paint to you a picture of how angry I was at the fur industry.

This is a big victory for me as well, even though I feel like this is something that should have been taken care of many years ago. Knowing that innocent animals are being tortured and killed for their fur in the most unethical ways, without having the possibility of doing anything, saddens me a lot.

So that the Norwegian government decided to ban fur farming finally, is a relief! I am so happy that the politicians finally decided to think humane and ethically about this, and finally is listening to the people at least a bit.


Me and my closest friends started @ambrosiacafe to show people how easy you can live a happy and healthy life without having to harm animals.

We are a traveling vegan cafe, food blog and healing community. We do not use any animal products in our food, production or creative crafts.
osyxie5xc1.jpg


When I buy clothes and accessories I always buy ethical, sustainable and cruelty-free.

For shoes, I recommend the 100% vegan shoe store AVESU

I have these sandals that are the best ever quality, I can walk in them for hours and my feet feels amazing. They look a bit like leather, but are made from cork!

I also have these sneakers that are comfy to use both in the city and while walking in the forest.
I spend a lot of time walking in the woods, so I can assure you that these shoes are good. I forgot them outside in the rain for 3 days when I traveled to Sweden (how smart of me) and they looked and felt just the same when they dried up.

I hate to feel cold, but I do love nature fibre materials such as hemp, bamboo and nettle!

For warm jackets and other types of clothing, I recommend Hoodlamb hemp


k4s0mqnhjl.jpg


Feel free to discuss the ban on fur farming in the comments!

  • What do you think about the fact that Norway is banning fur farming?

  • Do you believe that this will lead to more countries banning fur?

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask. ^_^


🌱 ♥ Love, light & peace to all beings from Emilie / @Umulius ♥ 🌱
2ct2ubfh96.jpg


Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq