You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to De-Skunk a Dog: I’ve Been Doing It All Wrong

in #animals6 years ago

We don't have skunks here in Australia! No porcupines either, which is just as well because I'd probably go poking my nose in one!

It’s not toxic, but you don’t want them eating it and getting sick.

Are you sure? Hydrogen Peroxide is definitely toxic! I can't imagine the baking soda neutralises the toxicity?

Sort:  

Hahahaha, poor dogs gun' get skinned by poisonous house remedies.

Many vets will actually suggest giving it by the teaspoon to dogs that ingest certain things....like if they get ahold of a pill bottle as mine did once. My catahoula got ahold of some pills for my back out of my bathroom.....dont leave em sit by the sink where your pooch can see.....I called the vet and they said to give him two teaspoons and walk him for 5 to 10 minutes. If he doesnt throw it up, give him another. She assured me that it wouldnt harm the dog. It worked too!

Some people actually use hydrogen peroxide in a small proportion in their diets. I wouldn't do so, but it is not impossible to ingest. I guess I meant that eating a small amount won't be dangerous, but might make a dog sick.

Thanks for explaining, that makes more sense!

Regardless, I shall make sure to steer clear if I ever see a skunk, particularly if it has a french accent and a last name of Le Pew.

Last thing you need is hijinks with the stink.

Or some funk from that skunk!

I always thought that date-raping rodent must confuse so many young minds. His behavior today would earn him a place in the Weinstein house of shame.

we have a huge problem with skunks in sa but I never knew this would work,just keep it out of the eyes mouth and he should be fine