Recovery of an MMO Junkie Review

in #anime6 years ago (edited)

I finished watching "Recovery of an MMO Junkie" about 2 weeks ago. It's about a 30 year old woman named Moriko Morioka who quits the boring corporate job that she hated and starts spending her life playing an online game called "Fruits de Mer". She creates a male character called "Hayashi" and befriends a player called "Lilly". Although the online world may be a big place, she later learns that the real world is a small place and meets the real person behind the character "Lilly". The anime is very funny and of course has romance in it.

Originally I started watching the anime because I saw a youtube video about it and thought that there was going to be a lot of action. I was disappointed at first when I realized that the story does not really have any cool fights and focuses more on the character's life in real life instead of in the game, but it turned out to be a funny anime so I kept watching.

It's a sweet, funny story and I think one that gamers will connect with. I know I used to play an online game (on and off) for like 5 years, so I felt like I could understand and empathize with the main character. I found myself laughing many times while I was watching this anime haha XD
It's a pretty short anime too, only 10 episodes and an OVA (which shows up on crunchyroll.com as episode 11).

As always, thanks for reading! =) =3