Tales of Zestiria the X Review

in #anime6 years ago (edited)

So early this week, like Monday or Tuesday, I finished watching the anime called "Tales of Zestiria the X". It revolves around the idea of there being a "shepherd", a savior, who rids the world of "malevolence", which is like a dark magic/power that creates monsters and natural disasters. It creates monsters like dragons and "hellions", which are like demons, malevolence can also corrupt a person and turn them into a monster. Malevolence is created by the negative emotions of humans, such as hate.

There were things I liked about the anime and things that I didn't like. I feel like it started out really good and the first 2 or 3 episodes had a lot of action and good fights, but then afterwards the anime started focusing more on traveling and the fights were not so good. The fights became shorter and not so detailed. I feel like the main character "Sorey", started defeating people and creatures in just a few hits, which was kind of lame. I'm the type of person who watches animes for the fights. LOL I love good, detailed fights that last for more than a minute. I don't like when the fight ends just as I'm getting excited haha. So after like the 7th episode I started getting bored, but I kept watching because I don't like not knowing how it ends.


(^The main characters. From left to right: Dezel, Edna, Alisha, Sorey, Mikleo, Rose, Zaveid, Lailah)

PROS
One thing I really loved about the anime was the art. The scenery is very beautiful. In the anime they display beautiful ruins, cities, mountains, and sunsets/sunrises. I also really loved the introduction and ending song of each episode. I always skip those parts in other animes, but not in this one. Because the songs are beautiful, the art is beautiful, and the animation is action-packed. It really holds your attention and is a nice perfect blend. I truly enjoyed watching the introduction theme songs and the ending. They have them blended so perfectly with a good mix of animation, art, and music that captivates the viewer.

I also like the way the characters are drawn. They are not cartoony like One Piece (no offence). I'm the type of person who can't watch an anime unless I think that the characters are at least somewhat good looking. The MC (main character) Sorey was alright looking, I think maybe he has a bit of a baby face, but at least he is okay looking and his personality makes up for it. He's a really nice guy, he's boyfriend material LOL. But, maybe he is a bit too nice and naive. The women of course are mostly drawn with big breasts, as is typical of animes. But the cute ones (in my opinion) would have to be Lailah and Velvet Crowe.

Something else that I like was how they don't make the women useless. I feel like it is so mainstream for animes, movies, etc, to make women look dumb and weak, which as a women myself, really ticks me off (makes me angry). But Tales of Zestiria the X doesn't do that. They make the women capable and good fighters. Like how the princess Alisha is able to defend herself, instead of being a defenseless, sheltered princess. It adds to the action and doesn't make me roll my eyes. So props to this anime! =D

Also, I like how there isn't really any romance. In some parts of the anime it sort of looks like the main character, Sorey, likes Alisha and that Dezel might have a thing for Rose, but it never really develops or solidifies (maybe that's a better word). Which is something that I appreciate, because I feel like it is so cliche and overdone for the main character to fall in love or for an anime to have some sort of romantic relationship develop over time. I feel that romance is only really good in romance animes, but takes away from the story in other animes. Since it like takes over the focus of the story and leads away from the main plot or big idea of an anime. So I am glad that Sorey did not go all lovey dovey for Rose and that nothing cliche happened.

CONS
My main complaint is that after the first few episodes the fights died down, there weren't so many fights and when there were, they didn't last long (they were over in a few hits). It started getting boring with the characters just running here and there, just traveling a lot.

REFLECTION
I heard that another season is going to come out this fall (fall 2018, like in October I think). I might watch it just to see what happens with Velvet Crowe, since she looks like a fighter and will probably bring in a lot of action. But I won't really watch it to see what happens with Sorey and his crew, since they are kind of boring. I hope that Rokorou and Velvet don't get all lovey dovey though, since it seems that Rokorou has a crush on her. I just want the action, not no soap opera drama.

I hope that you enjoyed reading this post or that maybe it was of some use to you. Thanks for reading! =D :3