Anime recommendation: Berzerk

in #anime6 years ago

guts - Copy.jpg

This is by far my favorite anime. It is very bloody and violent, so I do not recommend it for anyone who does not wish to see those things, but if you don't mind, then it is amazing.

It follows a young man named "Guts" through his life. Guts is an interesting character in the fact that he runs towards death in battle headfirst, but also that he always wields a sword that is supposed to be too large for a person with his frame. He always has the largest weapon on the battlefield. There are many plot twists that are interesting, but I will not get into them because I do not want to give any spoilers.

guts.jpg

I will say that there are two versions- one has 25 episodes that are each around 20 minutes and another is longer, movie-like episodes. I have seen both and the 25 episode version is MUCH better in my opinion. I would recommend not watching any version except the 25 episode version made in 1997

Sort:  

There are three versions of Berserk.

The 1997 Berserk is the best one, 25 episodes made by OLM, the Pokemon studio.
The movie trilogy is notably worse than 1997, but is a decent recap.
The 2016 continuation of the story is terrible. It looks bad, it sounds bad, the writing is bad. This may be surprising since Berserk is supposedly a very well written story, but the quality drops significantly after Golden Age (which 1997 covered better than the manga).

forgot about the continuation. true garbage. 1997 for the win

the movies are really good though.

have you seen the 1997 version?

i have but been a long time since i watched it

it's just my opinion, but i think it is much better