Talking about anime... Hai to Gensou no Grimgar!

in #anime7 years ago

This is one of those great animes that you may not heard of. When you think about animes related to games/mmorpg features you may think of Sword Art Online or Log Horizon. Perhaps even Overlord. Don't get me wrong! I absolutely loved these series, but Hai t Gensou no Grimgar... It was special and different in a way that marked me!

Why, you ask? I'm gonna tell you right now!

One of the things I greatly criticize in modern anime (and many old series) is how burdened the main characters are. They give them so much importance, making others characters feel like ornaments for them. In Sword Art Online, this happens to Kirito. He's good at the game, I can tell. He stood out from other players, making him the main character... But to me, he was too special. Making him the only character on the game capable of using an special ability made me feel like he was way too special, when he was an human just like the others. I don't know about you, but... It was far from realistic. Although Asuna was good too, no one really made it to be as good as him (I'm talking about the first season here!!! I know what you are thinking!!!)

Now, going back to Hai to Gemsou no Grimgar... What I loved the most about this anime was the fact that it developed many characters: Haruhiro, Manato, Yume, Shihoru, Ranta and Moguzo!

The story goes like this: Haruhiro awakens on a different world without memories of his previous life. Going with the flow, he ends up entering a guild with his friends, forming a party where each one has a role.

A rogue (Haruhiro), a priest (Manato), a hunter (Yume), a mage (Shihoru), a dark knight (Ranta) and a warrior (Moguzo)

Turns out... They can't even beat the weakest of the enemies, a single goblin smirks

Together, they try to survive on this merciless world while improving their team work and individual skills.

Please, if you've got some time on hand, watch it! You won't regret it!

As a bonus, I will add this video as an example (SPOILER ALERT)

Special thanks to:

Under The Scope, for the fighting explanation.
Demon Sword K, for the opening.
And lastly, dcn for the OST!

WARNING: THIS IS JUST AN OPINION. WE CAN ARGUE AND TALK ABOUT IT, BUT PLEASE, DON'T BE RUDE OR MEAN ABOUT IT. Thanks for reading, your dear Lil'Goblin!

Sort:  

Can I say that I totally agree on your post? I really loved this anime too. Comparing to SAO I will chose this one. It has a good twist and somehow this is realistic. I also liked it because as you have said the supporting characters are not an ornament. Each one has their own unique capability, what I don't like is there are some scenes that are not included on this series comparing to the manga though but overall it is an awesome anime! Definitely worth watching.

I've been thinking on reading the manga and light novel! Since I've started reading some light novels recently, why not start this one? Thanks for your comment! Makes me happy to have a comrade on a corner of the world!

There's a lot of us here. Lurking in the shadows :)

I don't have the leisure of time reading the LN but the manga yeah I can say that it is decent the only downside for me as a reader is it has very limited chapters and you will be left hanging. Reading LN is really for a hardcore fan already and I am afraid that if I will be doing it I will not be doing anything anymore. Hahaha and there's a lot of manga and anime that we need to watch. Too many animes but we have limited time.

I think exactly the same. Light novels seem to take too much time from you. In fact, I recently read the first volume of Overlord and it surprised me how it only took 2-3 chapters of the anime. I read light novels to grasp how they write. Since I like writing, reading is a must! And yes, I love reading too :D I'll check the manga once I get done with some series I've been watching. I've started Kakegurui and I'm on chapter 9 !

Awesome! I agree with you bro reading is a must for us. Since the mangaka's , redrawers and scanlators are too slow in doing their job (As if we are paying them to demand ) We need to find our ways to feed our anime cringe. Also for us to be better in writing stuff and maybe one day you are even me will have our very own LN.

Glad to know we think the same, brother! That's one of my goals! If we do so, let's make sure to make it with our heart's content!

I think the same too.The amount of time needed is insane.I watch anime, read LN's, play VN's and also playing some games and not to forget I rewatch anime way too much and the time....AAAHH the time, the time is never enough.Anyway I think I'll try to write LN one day too (even though my writing is so bad).Manga is just not my thing, but I love LN's so have a desire to try.For now it's just not working at all >.< , but I don't lose hope.
Btw there is one guy who started recently writing LN here on steemit - @lazywriter

I wrote one before in our local dialect. I am having a trouble on describing the scenery and the action of the characters. Somehow I am feeling that there's something missing on what I wrote that time. So I did stop plus the laziness of doing it. Exposure and feedback from fellow readers and writers give you a push to write and improve too. So I am planning to write an LN too on this platform.

Good post.I'm not really an isekai guy, but i'll check the first episode to see if it grabs my attention.

Please do! Let me know what you think of it! I'll make sure to read it!

Congratulations @goblinglord! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @goblinglord! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!