Why do I like anime so much

in #anime7 years ago


Why do you like anime?


I always liked anime. As a child pokemon, Dragonball/Dragonball Z, Gundam wing, Zoids, Outlaw Star, and many other dubs on Tv were part of my life everyday after school before I even knew what anime was.

Once I grew up a bit I read a few scanalations, and watched a few streamed fansubs, this was before I knew about the epic world of downloading. I posted on forums, and bought the occasional magazine.

Eventually I found out how to use torrents then I was angry at myself for not knowing how epic they were for so long. I began to download. I began to submerse myself into this world called fandom. And now I am a college student halfway through my bachelors degree and still enjoy it so much. And the funny part is I still can't tell you why I like anime so much.

If I had to narrow it down to a couple of reason, I'd say they are:

It can handle much more serious issues than regular cartoons. Because of this, it can have much darker/more entertaining storylines.

This, and the freedom that such drawing style provides.

And I see anime as an escape from the real world and its many problems, where the physically impossible is possible, and anything can be done, all in nice colorful detail.

Please tell me your views about why you like it in the comments.



Please upvote and follow me @mariey

Sort:  

I am 39 and still love anime! It's like reading a book with another's imagination. Or a movie with no limits! The touching moments and trials of humanity for everyone to see! Because I have jumped into so many genres it would be impossible to pick favorites. But late 80's through to late 90's was a golden time for anime. But they are still pumping out good shows and movies.