Horror Anime Recommendation: Junji Ito Collection

in #anime6 years ago

Junji Ito Collection

Junji-Ito-Collection-Anime-Header-001-20171012.jpg

So as you guys probably know by now I am into a lot of weird stuff and I'm also into anime and what better way to enjoy both than to find treasures that are in the form of horror anime.  

So this anime just aired early this year and currently has 6 episodes and is still ongoing. This anime is based off the manga Itou Junji Kyoufu which is a collection of Junji Ito's short horror mangas, which are a must read as well for anyone who loves horror.

I'd rate this a 10/10. I first heard about this author when I cam across one of the other anime adaptation of his work called Gyo . Then when I started working at my friend's manga cafe she had a copy of his other work Uzumaki which is a horror masterpiece in itself.

I don't want to write down too much because I might spoil something so just read them and watch the anime. Some parts may be too graphic for some people though so just a bit of fair warning there.

Junji-Ito.jpg
Fuchi from Junji Ito Collection

uzumaki.jpg
A scene from Uzumaki and I swear this is really REALLY tame compared to some of the other horrors in that manga.

WhyNot-Gyo-OVA-v0BD-720p-AACE2F6B2AA.mkv_snapshot_00.29.19_2012.02.23_04.21.09.jpg
A scene from the anime adaptation of Gyo. The manga was waaaaaaaaaaay better but I enjoyed the anime as well even though it did not give justice to its manga counterpart.

Hope you guys enjoy these as much as I do. ❤️

@vocafrost

Sort:  

Gyo has probably terrorized millions of manga readers 😅
I think it's one of the most disturbing pieces I've read.
So I say it's a successful horror manga. haha

I haven't seen Uzumaki or Junji but the weirdness and horror factor seems to be top notch too based on your images.

If you liked Gyo then you should read Uzumaki. Uzumaki is so horribly creepy and disturbing and makes Gyo look like a children's books~ XD

What a comparison. Because I wasn't convinced by what you said, I googled some Uzumaki images. Lol, you are right. It's way nastier and more disturbing.

I'd probably check it out later if I'm in a horror mood again.
I barely made it to Gyo's end, looks like this one would be a tougher opponent.

Hahahaha. Have fun~ XD

by the looks of it, it seems it just the same with the other animes - weird monsters and other characters. i might give this a try.

I only posted the tame parts here. Trust me. His works can be horrifying. Hahaha

you've really piqued my curiosity. i will do so asap haha!

I've watched until episode 8. I didn't feel the horror everyone is talking about. Is that weird? However, episode Shiver gave me shivers indeed because I think I am trypophobic. At some parts the story was dragging because there's more talking than thrill. I give this 6/10. Do you have other recommended animes such as this? I am not into manga. I prefer watching :D

I guess some people are just harder to scare. Haha. Hmmmmmm. Try watching Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni. Although it's more gore than horror. There's also Gyo but it's not scary just weird. XD

Tnx! Another reason to waste time :D