You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WEISS RATINGS - STEEM TO THE MOON! Up 30.00%!!!

in #announcement6 years ago

Giving B notes to Steem was a realit result. According to my personal opinion, the note that should be given for steem is definitely A ++. As mentioned in the article, social media features are very big and positive.

Sort:  

I am a big fan of Steem myself, but there are certainly a few problems with the platform that should be solved before it should get an A in my opinion.

Which issues are you most concerned about? I do agree that Steem is not perfect, but it would be cool to hear what you (and others who might see this comment) finds most problematic.

One of the concerns is that @steem and the other accounts that belong to the developers hold way too much Steem. This has been an issue with other coins as well, and could easily be putting off investors.

Another concern that I have is that the witnesses could be attacked. We have 30 witnesses plus a lot of backups, but I have read several posts about how it would be potentially pretty easy for an organized hacker group to attack all their servers, since each witness typically only has one server each.

These are of course not really big issues, but I would certainly want the have good solutions to these before I would give Steem an A :)

Until now, I have always thought that trust was the main concern with witnesses (and that the voting system solves this problem pretty well), but now that you mention it, hacking may actually pose a serious threat, depending on how often the servers are backed up. I don't fear that much information would get lost, but some downtime could definitely be possible if someone with the wrong motives and the right toolsmade a serious attempt.

Yeah, trust is of course a big concern too. As well as potential for someone very wealthy to buy huge amounts of Steem Power and vote for witnesses that follows their agenda (sounds like a conspiracy, but it's worth debating and figuring out in my opinion).

I honestly don't know what the ramifications of an attack towards the witnesses would be, but you are probably right that it would most likely be downtime for the blockchain and not loss of data.