Organising Shop Inventory and Expanding Capabilities

Original post: https://kjworldsong.wordpress.com/2020/07/26/organising-shop-inventory-and-expanding-capabilities/

As my inventory of wargaming miniatures keeps expanding, I find that I can no longer store them all in my little tackle box that I also keep my modelling tools in. From now on, therefore, I'll be keeping only single samples of each variant that I have, and all of my other inventory will be in a shelf drawer organiser. I dug this out of a dusty corner in my machine shop, cleaned it off, and started filling it with my miniature inventory.

DSC_0030.JPG
(Apparently this problem with images getting cut off is a glitch on Hive's end, because WordPress gave me no trouble)

As you can see, I've already started labelling it. I may end up consolidating some of the inventory. As it is, I'm keeping multiple variants of both the KV-1 and KV-2 in the same drawer, mostly because they are easy to tell apart at a glance. Something like the IS-3 and IS-3M, on the other hand, not so much. These drawers also have enough room to fit ships in...

DSC_0031.JPG

...as you can see. I started putting these things into storage as I was running another print job, sitting in my usual spot:

DSC_0028.JPG

As I clean up models and put them into inventory, I'll simply open up a drawer and put them out of the way. When I'm all done, the little cart gets moved to the side, like so:

DSC_0026.JPG

DSC_0027.JPG

That little black box with the orange label, by the way, is a paint shaker. I use it for more than just paint. I use it for more than just paint, though I should be using it a lot more for its intended purpose in the near future.

And now for something completely different: I'm getting a vacuum forming press! Though I may end up using for packaging, among other things, I originally ordered it because of an unrelated job that I'm working on for a client (again, you know who you are). This will be one more manufacturing process that I can add to my custom work page, and with any luck (i.e. with my client's permission), I'll be able to share the process of setting it up and using it with the special forms I designed for that job. Otherwise, I'll have to dream up something else to use as a demonstration. Either way, if this sort of thing interests you, please subscribe to my BitChute channel, since I'll have many more 3d printing and DIY videos in the near future, along with some more metalworking.

Sort:  

Congratulations @steampunkkaja! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!