Welcome to Antarctica - Conspiracy Creative Writing Contest II

in #antarctica7 years ago (edited)

Antarctica has this mythical weight.

It resides in the collective unconscious of so many people,

and it makes this huge impact,

just like outer space.

It's like going to the moon.

John Krakauer

Antarctica-Vapid2.gif

image via @animate


It’s that time again.

The second installment of my Conspiracy Creative Writing Contest.

The original contest – “What happened to Malaysia Flight 370?” - exceeded all expectations and was a huge success.

If you missed out on the first contest, here’s your chance to showcase your talent.

Edit: For reasons that escape me, I forgot to mention the previous winner -

@pulpworx

and the amazing winning submission

Flight of the Wrong Chords.

I urge you to have a read through, fantastic through and through, it may even help inspire some writers for the current contest.


This time I'm teaming up with Minnow Support Project (MSP) moderator extraordinaire @rhondak who runs the Fiction Workshop, the Steemhouse Fiction Trail (SFT) and the driving force behind Steemshelves.com to help judge your fine-ass submissions!

Equally exciting is the fact that Carol, who's a book critic and editor with Perihelion Science Fiction, has also expressed interest in selecting La creme de la creme!

Let’s get right to it then…


Wild Conspiracy Theory Creative Writing Contest

Writing Prompt


• What’s happening in Antarctica?
• What’s behind the heightened attention world leaders are directing towards the polar region?

Background


• Over the span of the last 2 years prominent figures from all over the world have made pilgrimages to the frozen continent, but for reasons unknown.


Recent High-Profile Visitors


Secretary of State John Kerry


• Visited McMurdoc Station / Ross Island Shelf / Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station
• He was the first Secretary and the most senior U.S. government official to ever travel to Antarctica.

Russian Orthodox Religious Leader – Kirill


• Visited South Pole after meeting with Pope Francis in Cuba
• Performed Religious Ceremony

2nd Man on the Moon – Buzz Aldrin


• Medically evacuated from Antarctica

Rumors that former NSA director James Clapper and President Obama have also made clandestine visits.

Rules

  1. Must resteem this post
  2. Must keep submission to 1000 words or less.
  3. Limited to 1 contest entry per account
  4. Submissions must be made in a separate post (not in comments please)
  5. Submissions have to include the lead tag: “antarctica”

alien crash.jpg

Winners


• The winning submission will meet the rules criteria
• Winners will be announced 7 days from the time of this posting (7-day payout)

Prizes and Categories

  • Overall Best (First Prize - 50SBD)
  • Most Humorous / Funny AF (10 SBD)
  • Most Realistic (10 SBD)
  • Best Style / Tone (10SBD)
  • Best Line (10 SBD)

Bonus @v4vapid upvotes/resteems also in the mix

All Kinds of Entries are welcome - Just be sure to include some conspiracy elements!

Special thanks to @animate for lending their amazing talents.


Antarctica is a very alien environment,

and you can't survive here more than minutes

if you're not equipped properly

and doing the right thing all the time.

John Krakauer


neverending snowflake.gif


Vapid-Bleed-SUPER-NEW.gif

V4vapid1.png

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

This is a great opportunity for all those flat earthers to finally channel their beliefs into something productive ;-)

Great idea for a challenge, @v4vapid

Awesome idea, looking forward to the submissions! Resteemed

Cheers man! Always appreciate your resteem, can't wait to see what people dream up too!

https://steemit.com/antarctica/@outerground/welcome-to-antarctica-an-extract-short-story Here's my story and although the names and dates have been changed it's true.

Good luck everyone. Look forward to reading all your creations.

Thank you @fortified, always appreciate your support and I'm also really looking forward to the entries!

same from here

this sounds very interesting. let's do it, what other joke is going to happen about antartica. ha ha ha

https://steemit.com/antartica/@jonas160/ok-what-s-really-happening-in-antartica-is-it-just-a-myth-or-a-joke-let-s-see-antartica-conspiracy-writing-contest

I'll do it!

This is a brilliant idea! My voting power is a little low so I sent you a small SBD donation to use in the prize pool.

Thanks for the support @hanshotfirst! I hope you take a crack at it ;)

There are so many possibilities with this theme, I'm really looking forward to reading the submissions!

Thats lovely

What a brilliant idea for a contest subject.
I'm sure all the entries will be fascinating, I can't wait to see what people come up with. Great job V. Resteemed.

Thanks @tremendospercy, knowing your writing I hope you find the time to make an entry!

make sure you read my entry tremendospercy !

Hey Buddy, how ya doing? I will do mate..

not too bad thanks. actually percy, I think I might have a sci-fi novel on my hands so not sure it's going to grace the blockchain in this contest... just yet anyway ! I'm hoping to publish something on the new authorship platform and this could be the one .ICO just ended ATS tokens will be erc20
.

Hello, friend @v4vapid,

and thanks for the excellent and very challenging contest.

Here is my entry:

"Occult Antarctica: 2023" by Duncan Cary Palmer

😄😇😄

@creatr

Cool, thanks for entering! You just made my job a whole lot harder;)

Your response has put a hopeful smile on my face... ;)

Here is my entry, I hope I'm not too late.

https://steemit.com/antarctica/@jordan.lesich/antarctica-writing-contest-dance-into-the-divine

Looking forward to reading the other entries.

I'd like to offer this as my entry to the contest on Antarctica, and thanks for the chance to join the fun: https://steemit.com/antarctica/@therealpaul/antarctica-a-few-wild-thoughts-on-that-mysterious-place-down-south

@v4vapid - just entered the competition, you will find my entry 'Portal to the Stars' if you look through my blog. Thank you for hosting this contest!

Really excited to take part in this! I've read some other entries and I think it will be really tough, but any time one enjoys writing is a victory in and of itself. Cheers!

https://steemit.com/antarctica/@steemedchitty/nightfall-on-amundsen-scott-conspiracy-creative-writing-contest-2

Very cool post. Yep lots of funny things going on there and no one seems to have any concrete proof. It might as well be the surface of the moon.

I want to add this to the Fictioneer's in-house list of contests. Can you do the math and give me a time/date/timezone deadline please. Determining the payout gets increasingly difficult....

Okay, by all means post it there:

posted September 9th 12pm UTC / Deadline September 16th 12pm UTC.

Where does one find the Fictioneer in-house anyways?

Our website is http://www.mspfictionworkshop.com/ Many parts are accessible to anyone, but some stuff requires account, which is only available to "regulars" in the PALNet Fiction Workshop . Since Rhonda is without laptop, I am trying to do some of the stuff she usually does to keep things running smoothly.

I'm not surer if I did this correctly. Here's a link to my entry in case I did! Thank you @v4vapid https://steemit.com/antarctica/@ultramylk/conspiracy-creative-writing-challenge-2-this-is-not-fiction

I hope I'm not too late for my entry.

Antarctica Atlantis Awakening

There's still plenty of time, thanks for your submission ;)

Nice idea! My entry to contest:
https://steemit.com/antarctica/@ideamaker/what-s-happening-in-antarctica
It turns out to be short intriguing story. Check this out :-)

Awesome!

Not sure if I will submit but I find the whole antarctica subject almost as interesting as the space subject but in a way because its "more" accessible it seems maybe even more important.

Look forward to seeing the entries, especially the winner.

Great contest! I will give it a Resteem !

Awesome contest for steemians!

Cheers @stackin, hope it's as much fun as last time!

Going for it!!!!! Have some really good ideas why :) Will post soon .. SUNSHINE247

Still working on this, will it be too late if I turn in tomorrow 9/13?

Thanks for this. I've written an entry.

Awesome, great to get your submission!

Ive been waiting for your next competiton, frothing to get this going! You shall be hearing from me soon. How come no mention of the previous winner in this post ;)

My apologies @pulpworx, I will certainly add it to my post. It was an awesome submission and fully deserving. Very much happy to see you'll be making another entry this time around, very exciting!

My man, thanks so much really appreciate it! Admittingly, the first contest was such a big thing for me personally, and you re-ignited my passion for creative writing. Thank you!

That might be the most meaningful comment I've received here... I'm so happy to of helped in some way.
And I just finished reading your Elron Ahura piece... absolutely a pleasure to read...I hope you continue writing because you are truly gifted, that or you work your ass off!

Haha, a little from column A, a little from coloumn B. Antarctica, here we come!

Yep, I'm a minnow trying to gain some traction. Good luck everyone! You can find my submission here:
https://steemit.com/antarctica/@lymmerik/world-leaders-conceal-answer-to-the-most-baffling-question-of-all-time

Me gustaron las fotos! Súper :)

Challenge accepted. The globe is the loser but people aren't smart enough to fully understand the real flat earth theory.

I'm in and what I'm about to write about Antarctica is true, shocking and mind blowing... hold on to your hat

awesome

Well, there is a star who could actually answer that: our Sun! As seen from the surface of the Earth, the position of the Sun in the sky changes with seasons. The reason for this is that our planet’s rotational axis has a 23˚ inclination with relation to the ecliptic (the plane on which all planets revolve around the Sun) plus the Earth’s orbit around the Sun is an ellipse, not a circle. This practically means that at exactly the same time, the Sun will be at a slightly different place in the sky next Monday as compared to this one. If you take a snapshot of all the Sun’s positions at the same moment over a year, this is called an “analemma”. Now the difference between the analemma and your own “graph of location at 16:00 on Mondays” is that the Sun is far more predictable! It follows the same path in the sky with no deviation year after year. This pattern looks like the figure 8, only it’s tilted and one of its lobes appears larger than the other.

Nice post ..

I just hope I can hit the 1000 word thing... You know me- I use what's necessary to tell the story. If it's too long- just throw it out- It's done!

Think of it as a general guide... just try not to go overboard. There's only so many hours in the day, right?

I posted it so you tell me what you think??? I think you'll enjoy it ( one of the commenters thought it was true- he couldn't find a Biblical scholar named John mayo lol!)

Good one!

The antarctic treaty is the best proof of a staged world! When I researched this topic it became crystal clear...and I made a little video about it:

And I have to add a big LOL
Buzz Aldrin Second Man on the Moon you say?^^
watch: NASA Insider: We lied about everything!

very fascinating

I really like your posts, maybe I'm interested in your post, I wait for your next posting

I really like your comments, maybe I'm interested in your comment, I wait for your next comment :/

sometimes its hard not to...
I understand...

Wow very amazing @v4vapid

I will here follow the articles that you share

“Traveling – it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller.” – Ibn Battuta. I really like your post

very interesting contest

It's an ET haven and the portal to underworld where green people is living.

Are these read? Look like wallpapers to me

wow so nice..
very good..

I hope i can visit that place
I sure can do it
Please support me

Sangat indah, indah sekali, pengen kesini .

Antarctica needs to explored more as it is the least explored portion of the planet. I believe their is some kind of secret bunker of sorts their where only the rich and the influential people can go!! :P

There are 2 pages
Pages